YAMADA, K.: Nagauta Symphony / Inno Meiji / Maria Magdalena

Buy + Add To Wish List + £12.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 5-7 working days
K??s?ºak Yamada was the first great composer to emerge from Japan after it had begun to accept western classical music. After studies with Max Bruch, Yamada was the first Japanese composer to write symphonies and operas. 'Nagauta Symphony' is an epoch-making work that attempts the fusion of western music and 'nagauta', Japanese traditional vocal music performed with instruments including the three-stringed 'shamisen, fues' (Japanese flutes) and percussion. In this work, Yamada takes a classic 'nagauta' piece of 1857 to which he adds his original orchestral music. 'Sinfonia 'Inno Meiji'' is effectively a symphonic poem which depicts Japan on the way to westernisation from the latter half of the 19th century through to the early 20th century. It combines a big orchestra with the 'hichiriki', an ancient Japanese double reed wind instrument, and other Asian instruments. The sumptuous 'Maria Magdalena', scored for a large orchestra and influenced by the symphonic poems of Richard Strauss, was first performed in Carnegie Hall in 1919.
Disc: 1
Choreographic Symphony, "Maria Magdalena"
1 Nagauta Symphony, "Tsurukame"
2 Symphony "Inno Meiji"
3 Choreographic Symphony, "Maria Magdalena"
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like YAMADA, K.: Nagauta Symphony / Inno Meiji / Maria Magdalena, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, X and via e-mail below.

You may also like...

YAMADA: Symphony in F Major, 'Triumph and Peace'
Japanese Orchestral Favourites
WEBERN: Passacaglia / Symphony / Five Pieces
FERRERO: La nueva Espana
PART: Tabula Rasa / Symphony No. 3 8554591 11/01/2000 £12.99
SCHOENBERG: Verklarte Nacht / Chamber Symphony No. 2 8554371 08/01/2000 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
TAVENER: Protecting Veil / In Alium 8554388 01/01/2000 £12.99
VIEUXTEMPS: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 4 8554506 12/01/1999 £12.99
Out of stock
MacMillan:Veni, Veni Emmanuel/Tryst 8554167 12/01/1999 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
NYMAN: Piano Concerto / Where the Bee Dances 8554168 12/01/1999 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image Image
My account
My basket: 0 items