Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Works By Beethoven/ Schumann/ Liszt/ Wagner

Add To Wish List + £14.99 - Item is discontinued.

A curious notion: the Berliner Philharmoniker as guest performers at the State Opera Unter den Linden. Daniel Barenboim, as both the host and the conductor of the concert, had invited the ensemble to perform in the historically distinguished setting of the opera. The varied programme started with Beethoven's blithe Eighth Symphony, which deservedly no longer counts as one of Beethoven's lesser symphonic works. This was followed by a rare gem of Romantic music: the concert piece for four horns and orchestra Op. 86 by Robert Schumann, in which the solo quartet interacts with the orchestra as a concertino group. This imaginatively arranged three-part concert piece - brimming with vitality, catchy melodies and wit - was composed in 1849, seven years before Schumann's death. As performing the piece calls for consummate skill in all of the instrument's manifold playing techniques, it is regarded as a daunting and highly complex task among horn players. Perhaps that explains why the attractive composition is only presented so seldom. The next item on the programme was Franz Liszt's symphonic poem"Les Preludes" - with an entirely instrumental performance of Richard Wagner's"The Ride of the Valkyries" that was yet redolent of the Valkyrie's wild Hoyotoho cry, the impassioned opera conductor brought his concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker to a perfect close.
Item number 107175
Barcode 807280717594
Release date 01/08/2011
Media type DVD
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Works By Beethoven/ Schumann/ Liszt/ Wagner, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

ROSSINI: Cenerentola
MOZART: Symphonies in C major (English Chamber Orchestra/ Jeffrey Tate) (Arthaus Dvd: 100081)
BERLIN PHIHARMONIC: NEW YEAR'S GALA 1996 (NTSC) (Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/ Claudio Abbado/ Maxim Vengerov/ Swedish Radio Choir) (Arthaus Dvd: 100043)
Joint Concert Tel Aviv [DVD] (Viviane Hagner) (Arthaus Dvd: 100068)
MENDELSSOHN: Gala Concert (NTSC) (Frank-Michael Erben/ Kurt Masur/ Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra) (Arthaus Dvd: 100031) 100031 16/08/2000 £19.99
Out of stock
LIVE CONCERT FROM THE CHURCH OF ST. NICOLAI, LEIPZIG (NTSC) (Herbert Blomstedt/ Jurgen Wolf/ Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/ Leipzig Thomanerchor/ Nancy Argenta/ Victoria Mullova) (Arthaus Dvd: 100039) 100039 20/06/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
Berlin Gala: A Tribute to Carmen (NTSC) (Anne Sofie von Otter/ Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/ Bryn Terfel/ Claudio Abbado/ Gil Shaham/ Maurice Ravel/ Mikhail Pletnev/ Mikhail Pletnev/ Orfeon Donostiarra/ Roberto Alagna/ Sergei Rachmaninov) (Arthaus Dvd: 1 100027 15/05/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
SIBELIUS: Violin Concerto / FALLA: Nights in the Gardens of Spain (NTSC) (Avi Ostrowsky/ Chicago Symphony Orchestra/ Daniel Barenboim/ Daniel Barenboim/ Maxim Vengerov/ Placido Domingo) (Arthaus Dvd: 100035) 100035 15/05/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
MOZART: Requiem (NTSC) (Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/ Bryn Terfel/ Claudio Abbado/ Karita Mattila/ Michael Schade/ Rachel Harnish/ Sara Mingardo/ Swedish Radio Choir) (Arthaus Dvd: 100037) 100037 05/04/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
MAHLER: Symphony No. 5 (NTSC) (Chicago Symphony Orchestra/ Daniel Barenboim) (Arthaus Dvd: 100033) 100033 05/04/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items