Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: L’Oca del Cairo; Lo Sposo Deluso

Buy + Add To Wish List + £8.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 5-7 working days
Mozart was a young husband and would soon become a father when he was composing L'oca del Cairo and Lo sposo deluso, two operas destined to remain fragments. After the success of The Abduction from the Seraglio, he worked concurrently on these two new works. In L'oca del Cairo (The Goose of Cairo) a father locks his daughter in a tower to keep her away from her lover. After much confusion and mischief during which a large mechanical metal goose plays an important role, the father finally gives in. Mozart decided not to finish this opera because he did not like the libretto; after a number of sketches of the music – which, as always, is wonderful – for arias, duets, and the finale he stopped working on it. After all, he had a second opera project in the works, Lo sposo deluso (The Deluded Bridegroom). Three ladies – Emilia, Metilde, and Laurina – are rivals for Emilia's beloved, who is presumed to be dead but then resurfaces. After much confusion the idea was also to conclude this opera with a happy ending, but things never got that far. It remained an unfinished fragment and never made its way to the stage.
Disc: 1
Dite almeno in che mancai, K. 479
1 Overture
2 Quartet: Ah, ah che ridere! (Bocconio, Pulcherio,
3 Aria: Nacqui all'aura trionfale
4 Aria: Dove mai trovar quel ciglio (Pulcherio)
5 Trio: Che accidenti (Eugenia, Asdrubale, Bocconio)
6 Duet: Cosi si fa (Auretta, Chichibio)
7 Aria: Se fosse qui nascoso (Auretta)
8 Aria: Ogni momento (Chichibio)
9 Recitative: O pazzo, pazissimo Biondello (Don Pipp
10 Aria and Trio: Siano pronte alle gran nozze (Don P
11 Aria: Che faccia, che dica (Biondello)
12 Quartet: S'oggi, oh dei, sperar mi fate (Celidora,
13 Duet: Ho un pensiero nel cervello (Auretta, Chichi
14 Finale: Su via, putti, presto! (Calandrino, Bionde
15 Chi sa qual sia (Who knows what feeling), K. 582
16 Dite almeno in che mancai, K. 479
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: L’Oca del Cairo; Lo Sposo Deluso, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, X and via e-mail below.

You may also like...

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Die Freimaurermusiken
Vladislav Khandogiy, piano
Mozart: Oboe Concerto | Quartet | Sonata
Mozart: Duo Sonatas Vol. 5
Night Music Volume 1 2110549 01/01/2012 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
Mozart: A Musical Visit To Castles And Towns In Bohemia And Moravia 2110542 01/01/2012 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
Birth Of The String Quartets Vol.2 SM143 31/10/2011 £13.99
Few in stock Buy +
Various: ARD Competition Winners 900106 26/07/2010 £13.99
Daniel Barenboim Plays Mozart 900709 26/04/2010 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
DEVIENNE: Bassoon Concertos 999120-2 01/01/2000 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My basket: 0 items