Various: English Recorder Music

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Although the recorder boasts an immense repertoire from the Renaissance to the Baroque, to which Philip Lane pays tribute with his Suite Ancienne, this recording presents an exciting selection of 20th-century music for this popular instrument. It includes a version of Malcolm Arnold's Concertino specially orchestrated with the composer's agreement for this recording by Philip Lane. The recorder's affiliation with folk and dance music is celebrated in works by Thomas Pitfield and Ian Parrott, while Edward Gregson illustrates the moods of three famous Matisse paintings. John Turner is one of the leading recorder players of today. He has played and broadcast as recorder soloist with the Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields, the Academy of Ancient Music, the English Chamber Orchestra and the English Baroque Soloists, amongst others. His recordings include no fewer than five sets of the Brandenburg Concertos, as well as acclaimed recordings of the recorder's contemporary repertoire.
Disc: 1
1 I. Intrada
2 II. Courtly Dance
3 III. Minuet
4 IV. Revelry (Beau Brummel's Bath Night)
5 I. Cantilena
6 II. Chaconne
7 III. Rondo
8 I. Allegro risoluto
9 II. Melody and Variant
10 III. Rondo alla tarantella
11 I. Pastoral
12 II. Luxe, calme et volupte
13 III. La Danse
14 I. Badinage
15 II. Reverie
16 III. Promenade
17 I. Quodlibet
18 II. Meditation on Tom Bowling
19 III. The Keel Reel
20 Prelude
21 Waltz
22 I. Coffee and Croissants
23 II. Barbecue Blues
24 III. Prawn Paella
25 IV. Special Chop Suey
26 V. Fish and Chips
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Various: English Recorder Music, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

English String Miniatures, Vol. 5
Classical Chill 8520101 01/02/2002 £18.99
Classical Heat 8520102 01/01/2002 £18.99
Few in stock Buy +
LE CAROSSE DU SAINT SACREMENT 8225155 01/10/2000 £9.00
Item is discontinued.
HELY-HUTCHINSON: Carol Symphony / STANDFORD / KELLY 8557099 12/01/2000 £11.99
English String Miniatures, Vol. 1 8554186 01/01/2000 £11.99
Out of stock
Rule Britannia: Last Night of the Proms 8553981 12/01/1999 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items