Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Various: Berlin Philharmonic Florence (Live From Florence) (Sarah Chang/ Zubin Mehta) (Arthaus Dvd: 107164)

Add To Wish List + £14.99 - Item is discontinued.

In 1540 Cosimo de'Medici moved with his family and court into the Palazzo Vecchio in Florence. On 1st May 1995 the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra performed its jubilee concert - conducted on this occasion by Zubin Mehta - in the same building. Since 1991 the orchestra has commemorated its foundation on 1st May 1882 with a concert, each time in a different European musical capital. Florence is important in the history of music because, like all the royal houses of the time, the Medici liked to surround themselves with the most accomplished composers and players. Yet in the rooms of the palazzo, which are otherwise bursting with art treasures, one fi nds no evidence of this musical past. Apart from one gem; and that is a special room closed to the public which is enough to thrill the heart of every string player. It is a virtual treasure chamber of work by all the great Italian violin-makers. There is a 1662 Nicola Amati violin, a 1736 Guarneri and a violin, viola and cello by Antonio Stradivari. They were all made in Cremona, at the school of violin making, which was founded by the Amati family, and were obviously ordered directly by the Medici, as they all bear their coat of arms.
Item number 107164
Barcode 807280716498
Release date 04/01/2011
Category Classical Concert | DVDs
Media type DVD
Number of units 1
Artists Sarah Chang
Composers Blacher, Boris
Stravinsky, Igor
Ludwig van Beethoven
Conductors Mehta, Zubin
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Various: Berlin Philharmonic Florence (Live From Florence) (Sarah Chang/ Zubin Mehta) (Arthaus Dvd: 107164), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Gala From Berlin: Finales
Gala From Berlin: Finales
Verdi: La Forza Del Destino
Verdi: La Forza Del Destino
Works By Beethoven/ Schumann/ Liszt/ Wagner 107175 01/08/2011 £14.99
Item is discontinued.
Various: Grand Finales 107166 26/07/2010 £14.99
Few in stock Buy +
GLYNDEBOURNE DIAMONDS 101109 30/04/2007 £45.99
DVORAK / BEETHOVEN: Chamber Music (NTSC) (Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Wind Ensemble) (Arthaus Dvd: 100725) 100725 12/01/2005 £14.99
Out of stock
JOINT CONCERT AT TEL AVIV 100069 01/06/2003 £24.99
Few in stock Buy +
LIVE CONCERT FROM THE CHURCH OF ST. NICOLAI, LEIPZIG (NTSC) (Herbert Blomstedt/ Jurgen Wolf/ Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/ Leipzig Thomanerchor/ Nancy Argenta/ Victoria Mullova) (Arthaus Dvd: 100039) 100039 20/06/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items