Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed

STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces

Buy + Add To Wish List + £7.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Oedipus Rex Les Noces

Stravinsky conducted the first performance of OedipusRex (1925-1927) in the The?ótre Sarah Bernhardt, Paris,on 30th May, 1927, in a double bill with Firebird, inwhich George Balanchine danced the r??le of Kastchei.

Composers--Ravel, Poulenc, and Roger Sessionsamong them--were the first to recognize it asStravinsky's most powerful dramatic work and one ofhis greatest creations. After hearing Ernest Ansermetconduct it in London, February 12, 1936, the youngBenjamin Britten noted in his diary:

'One of the peaks of Stravinsky's output, this workshows his wonderful sense of style and power ofdrawing inspiration from every age of music, andleaving the whole a perfect shape, satisfying everyaesthetic demand ... the established idea oforiginality dies so hard.'"
Disc: 1
Les Noces
1 Prologue
2 Introducing Creon
3 Introducing Tiresias
4 Introducing Jocasta
5 Introducing the Messenger
6 Epilogue
7 Scene 1: The Tresses (At the Bride's House)
8 Scene 2: At the Bridegroom's House
9 Scene 3: The Departure of the Bride
10 Scene 4: The Wedding Feast
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Stravinsky: Duo Concertante/ Duo Piano Sonata/ Requiem Canticles
STRAVINSKY: Igor Stravinsky - A Portrait
The Neo-Classic Stravinsky
STRAVINSKY: Histoire du Soldat Suite / Renard 8557505 01/01/2007 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
DISCOVER OPERA 8558196-97 01/10/2006 £12.99
Item is discontinued.
STRAVINSKY: Mass / Cantata / Symphony of Psalms 8557504 09/01/2006 £7.99
Out of stock
STRAVINSKY: The Rite of Spring / The Nightingale 8557501 08/01/2005 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: The Firebird / Petrushka 8557500 02/01/2005 £7.99
Out of stock
SCHOENBERG: Gurre-Lieder 8557518-19 10/01/2004 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items