Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

STRAVINSKY: Igor Stravinsky - A Portrait

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
From the Russian fairy-tale enchantment of 'The Firebird' to the austere ritual at the end of his 'Requiem Canticles' composed over half a century later, Stravinsky's extraordinary creativity embraces a range of styles and tributes to composers of the past. He started under the guidance of Rimsky-Korsakov in pre-revolutionary St Petersburg and ended his life in America having made a very special kind of peace with the rigorous (serial) techniques of Schoenberg and Webern. Yet his homages are always heartfelt, and he always remains himself: truly the most comprehensive and wide-ranging musical genius of the twentieth century.
Disc: 1
Piano Sonata: II. Adagietto
1 Introduction
2 Scene 1: Night. Kastchei's Enchanted Garden
3 Scene 1: The Firebird enters, pursued by Ivan Tsar
4 Scene 1: The Firebird's Dance
5 I. Danse russe
6 II. Chez Petrouchka
7 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Introduction -
8 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: The Augurs of Spri
9 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Ritual of Abductio
10 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Spring Rounds (Rou
11 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Ritual of the Riva
12 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Procession of the
13 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: The Sage -
14 Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Dance of the Earth
15 No. 1. —
16 No. 2. —
17 No. 2. On the Stove
18 No. 1. At Home …
19 No. 4. Dodo
20 No. 3. The Cat Has …
21 Part II: Tango
22 Part II: Valse
23 Part II: Ragtime
24 Les noces (The Wedding): Scene 4: The Wedding Feas
25 Serenata: Larghetto (Pergolesi: Il Flaminio, Act I
26 Scherzino (Gallo: Trio Sonata No. 2: Movement I)
27 Allegro (Gallo: Trio Sonata No. 2: Movement III)
28 Andantino (Gallo: Trio Sonata No. 8: Movement III)
29 Allegro (Pergolesi: Lo frate 'nnammorato, Act I: V
30 Symphonies of Wind Instruments (1920 version)
31 Piano Sonata: II. Adagietto
Disc: 2
Requiem Canticles (excerpts)
1 Otche nash' (Pater noster)
2 Oedipus rex: Epilogue
3 Pas de deux: Apollo and Terpsichore
4 Coda: Apollo and the Muses
5 Symphony of Psalms: III. Psalm 150, "Laudate Domin
6 Concerto for 2 Pianos: I. Con moto
7 Violin Concerto in D major: III. Aria II
8 Concerto in E flat major, "Dumbarton Oaks": I. Tem
9 Tango
10 Danses concertantes: No. 1. Marche - Introduction
11 Symphony in 3 Movements: III. Con moto
12 Concerto for Strings in D major: II. Arioso: Andan
13 Mass: Sanctus
14 Orpheus: Scene 3: Orpheus's apotheosis: Lento sost
15 Act II Scene 1: I was never saner.
16 Act III Scene 2: I burn! I freeze!
17 Second Pas de trois: Bransle Simple
18 Bransle Gay
19 Bransle Double (Bransle de Poitou)
20 Canticum sacrum ad honorem Sancti Marci nominis: S
21 Libera me
22 Postlude
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like STRAVINSKY: Igor Stravinsky - A Portrait, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Stravinsky: Duo Concertante/ Duo Piano Sonata/ Requiem Canticles
The Neo-Classic Stravinsky
STRAVINSKY: Histoire du Soldat Suite / Renard
STRAVINSKY: Mass / Cantata / Symphony of Psalms 8557504 01/10/2006 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Discover Music of the Twentieth Century 8558168-69 01/10/2005 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces 8557499 01/10/2004 £7.99
SCHOENBERG: Gurre-Lieder 8557518-19 01/10/2004 £12.99
STRAVINSKY: Pulcinella / Danses Concertantes 8553181 01/01/2000 £6.49
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY 8556685 01/01/2000 £6.49
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items