STRAVINSKY: Greek Classics II

Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Commissioned by George Balanchine, 'Jeu de cartes' is a prime example of melodic, rhythmic, and harmonic ideas emerging helter-skelter from Stravinsky's imagination. Unlike his other ballets, it contains no slow music and no lovers' pas-de-deux adagio. 'Danses concertantes' was the first large-scale piece composed entirely in what was to be Stravinsky's Hollywood home for the next 24 years. First performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Robert Craft, 'Variations' are the densest music Stravinsky ever wrote, yet the ingenious rhythmic structures allow every note to be heard. Ezra Pound, in a balcony at the Teatro La Fenice for a September 1934 performance of the 'Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra', wrote: \the piano and orchestra are as two shells of a walnut". Alban Berg, who had shared the same concert with Stravinsky, remarked to the latter: "I wish I could write such happy music"."
Disc: 1
1 Premiere donne (First Deal): Alla breve - Moderato
2 Deuxieme donne (Second Deal): Alla breve - Marcia
3 Troisieme donne (Third Deal): Alla breve - Valse -
4 Marche - Introduction
5 Pas d'Action - Con moto
6 Theme varie
7 Pas-de-deux - Andante sostenuto
8 Marche - Conclusion
9 Introduction
10 Danses (Corps de Ballet)
11 Variations (Ballerina)
12 Pantomime - Pas-de-deux
13 Pantomime
14 Variation - Variation (Ballerina) - Pantomime - Da
15 Apotheose
16 Variations, "Aldous Huxley in memoriam"
17 I. Allegro
18 II. Andante rapsodico
19 III. Allegro capriccioso ma sempre giusto
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like STRAVINSKY: Greek Classics II, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Stravinsky: Duo Concertante/ Duo Piano Sonata/ Requiem Canticles
STRAVINSKY: Igor Stravinsky - A Portrait
The Neo-Classic Stravinsky
STRAVINSKY: Histoire du Soldat Suite / Renard
STRAVINSKY: Mass / Cantata / Symphony of Psalms 8557504 09/01/2006 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
SCHOENBERG: Serenade / Variations for Orchestra / Bach Orchestrations 8557522 04/01/2006 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: The Rite of Spring / The Nightingale 8557501 08/01/2005 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: Apollo / Agon / Orpheus 8557502 05/01/2005 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: The Firebird / Petrushka 8557500 02/01/2005 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces 8557499 10/01/2004 £11.99
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items