Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

ROSSINI: Torvaldo de Dorliska

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Rossini's semi-serious opera 'Torvaldo e Dorliska' belongs, like Beethoven's 'Fidelio', to the genre of 'rescue' opera. The hero and heroine of the title both succumb to the power of the villainous Duke, who has designs on the newly married Dorliska. Both are saved in the nick of time by the castle custodian Giorgio, who sends to the absent governor for soldiers to put matters to rights.

Highlights include the heartfelt passages for the two lovers, such as the aria 'Dove son? chi m'aita?', in which Dorliska expresses her despair at the news of the supposed death of her husband, and the short 'duettin' from Act II, when they take their leave of each other.

This disc was recorded live on 10th, 12th and 17th July, 2003, in the Kursaal, Bad Wildbad, Germany, as part of the 'Rossini In Wildbad' festival.
Item number 8660189-90
Barcode 730099618922
Release date 01/07/2006
Label Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 2
Disc: 1
Torvaldo e Dorliska
1 Act I: No. 1. Sinfonia
2 Act I: No. 2. Introduction: E un bel dir che tutto
3 Act I: No. 3. Cavatina: Dunque invano i perigli e
4 Act I: No. 4. Recitative: Ormondo...La mia gente (
5 Act I: No. 5. Scene and Cavatina: Dove son? chi m'
6 Act I: No. 6. Recitative: Ah son pure infelice! (D
7 Act I: No. 7. Scene: Ola! Ella...oh ciel! (Duca, D
8 Act I: No. 8. Recitative: Ella piu non mi fugge (D
9 Act I: No. 9. Scene and Cavatina: Tutto e silenzio
10 Act I: Nos. 10 and 11. Recitative: Ah ch'io non re
11 Act I: No. 11. Trio: Ah qual raggio di speranza (D
12 Act I: No. 12 Recitative and Aria: Io non ne posso
Disc: 2
Torvaldo e Dorliska
1 Act I: No. 13. First Finale: Duet: Oh via, signora
2 Act I: No. 14. Trio: Immota e stupida (Torvaldo, G
3 Act I: No. 15. Quartet: Mia signora...a me badate
4 Act I: No. 16. Segue and Stretta of the First Fina
5 Act II: No. 17. Introduction: Bravi, bravi: qua ve
6 Act II: No. 18. Recitative: Or ben: gia qualche co
7 Act II: No. 19. Recitative and Aria: Odimi: ah tu
8 Act II: Nos. 20 and 21. Recitative: No, pentirsi n
9 Act II: No. 21. Aria: Ferma, costante, immobile (D
10 Act II: Nos. 22 and 23. Recitative: Insensata!...e
11 Act II: No. 23. Aria: Una voce lusinghiera (Carlot
12 Act II: No. 24. Recitative and Duet: Non so se ho
13 Act II: No. 25. Recitative and Duet: Dunque tu vuo
14 Act II: No. 26 Recitative and Sextet: Ma via, sign
15 Act II: No. 27. Recitative: Ah di noi che sara? (D
16 Act II: No. 28. Scene and Aria: Cedi, cedi! Dagli.
17 Act II: No. 29. Second Finale: Grazie al destin pi
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like ROSSINI: Torvaldo de Dorliska, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Hanson: Symphony No.3/ Merry Mount Suit
R-Korsakov: Orchestral Suites
Cordero: Caribbean Concertos For Guitar
Braga Santos: Alfama 8572815 28/11/2011 £7.99
Richter: Sonata Da Camera For Flute, Harsichord And Cello 8572030 28/11/2011 £6.49
Bowen: Viola Sonatas 1 / 2 8572580 28/11/2011 £6.99
Piazzolla: Tango Distinto 8572596 28/11/2011 £6.49
Few in stock Buy +
Hill: String Quartets Vol.4 8572844 28/11/2011 £7.99
Meyer: String Quartets Nos. 9/ 11/ 12 8572656 28/11/2011 £7.99
Image Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items