Rosa Ponselle

Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Described by Maria Callas as 'the greatest singer of us all', the American-born Rosa Ponselle (1897-1981) is acknowledged as one of the outstanding dramatic sopranos of the twentieth century. Without any previous experience of the operatic stage, she made her Metropolitan d?®but in Verdi's 'La forza del destino' opposite Caruso in 1918. Following her enormous success, she became the Metropolitan's leading soprano, appearing in 21 roles throughout her career. This third disc of Ponselle's 1923-1929 American recordings features solo arias from the great Verdi operas, the complete 'Tomb Scene' from 'Aida' and a number of songs that often appeared in Ponselle's recital programmes. Schubert's 'St?ñndchen' is a composite of two takes unpublished on 78rpm found by a collector in Cincinnati.
Disc: 1
Ernani, Act I: Ernani! Ernani, involami
1 Act IV: La fatal pietra
2 Act IV: O terra addio
3 Act II: Tu che invoco
4 Act II: O nume tutelar
5 Act II: O nume tutelar (unpublished take)
6 'A vucchella, "Arietta di Posillipo"
7 Luna d'estate
8 Elegie (take 1)
9 Elegie (take 3)
10 Ave Maria
11 Schwanengesang, D. 957: No. 4. Standchen (Serenade
12 Act I: Ritorna vincitor
13 Act III: O patria mia
14 4 Songs, Op. 2: No. 2. The Nightingale and the Ros
15 Serenade
16 Goodbye
17 Ave Maria
18 Ernani, Act I: Ernani! Ernani, involami
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Rosa Ponselle, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

SCHMIDT, JOSEPH: Operatic Songs and Arias Recordings
Rosa Ponselle
PONSELLE, Rosa: American Recordings, Vol. 2
MCCORMACK, John: McCormack Edition, Vol. 4: The Acoustic Recordings
PONSELLE, Rosa: American Recordings, Vol. 1 8111138 06/01/2006 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
MELBA, Nellie: American Recordings, Vol. 3 8110336 07/01/2005 £11.99
GIGLI, Beniamino: London, New York and Milan Recordings 8110268 09/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
CARUSO, Enrico: Complete Recordings, Vol. 9 8110750 06/01/2003 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
CHALIAPIN, Feodor: A Vocal Portrait 8110748-49 10/01/2002 £18.99
Few in stock Buy +
CARUSO, Enrico: Complete Recordings, Vol. 5 8110720 04/01/2001 £11.99
Out of stock
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items