Buy + Add To Wish List + £23.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Ward Marston

In 1997 Ward Marston was nominated for the Best HistoricalAlbum Grammy Award for his production work on BMG's Fritz Kreisler collection.According to the Chicago Tribune, Marston's name is 'synonymous with tenderloving care to collectors of historical CDs'. Opera News calls his work'revelatory', and Fanfare deems him 'miraculous'. In 1996 Ward Marston receivedthe Gramophone award for Historical Vocal Recording of the Year, honouring hisproduction and engineering work on Romophone's complete recordings of LucreziaBori. He also served as re-recording engineer for the Franklin Mint's ArturoToscanini issue and BMG's Sergey Rachmaninov recordings, both winners of theBest Historical Album Grammy. Born blind in 1952, Ward Marston has amassed tensof thousands of opera classical records over the past four decades. Following astint in radio while a student at Williams College, he became well-known as areissue producer in 1979, when he restored the earliest known stereo recordingmade by the Bell Telephone Laboratories in 1932. In the past, Ward Marston hasproduced records for a number of major and specialist record companies. Now heis bringing his distinctive sonic vision to bear on works released on the NaxosHistorical label. Ultimately his goal is to make the music he remasters soundas natural as possible and true to life by 'lifting the voices' off his old 78rpm recordings. His aim is to promote the importance of preserving oldrecordings and make available the works of great musicians who need to beheard.

Disc: 1
La Gioconda
1 Act 1: Prelude
2 Act 1: Feste! Pane! Feste!
3 Act 1: E cantan su lor tombe!
4 Act 1: Figlia, che reggi il tremulo pie'
5 Act 1: L'ora non giunse ancor
6 Act 1: Gloria a chi vince!
7 Act 1: Questi e l'uom ch'io cerco
8 Act 1: Suo covo e un tugurio
9 Act 1: Ribellion!
10 Act 1: Voce di donna
11 Act 1: Enzo Grimaldo, Principe di Santafior
12 Act 1: Maledici? Sta ben
13 Act 1: O monumento!
14 Act 1: Carneval! Baccanal!
15 Act 1: Angele Dei...
Disc: 2
La Gioconda
1 Act 2: Ho! he! ho! he! Fissa il timone!
2 Act 2: Pescator, affonda, l'esca
3 Act 2: Sia gloria ai canti dei naviganti!
4 Act 2: Cielo e mar!
5 Act 2: Ma chi vien?
6 Act 2: Deh non turbare
7 Act 2: E il tuo nocchier
8 Act 2: Stella del marinar!
9 Act 2: E un anatema!
10 Act 2: L'amo come il fulgor del creato
11 Act 2: Il mio braccio t'afferra!
12 Act 2: Laura, Laura, ove sei?
13 Act 2: Tu sei tradito!
14 Act 3: Si, morir ella de'!
15 Act 3: Ombre di mia prosapia
16 Act 3: Qui chiamata m'avete?... Bella cosi, madonn
17 Act 3: Morir! Morir! E troppo orribile
18 Act 3: E gia che ai nuovi imeni
19 Act 3: O madre mia
20 Act 3: Benvenuti, messeri!
21 Act 3: Grazie vi rendo
22 Act 3: Dance of the Hours
23 Act 3: Vieni!...Lasciami! Ohime
24 Act 3: D'un vampiro fatal
Disc: 3
La Gioconda
1 Act 4: Preludio
2 Act 4: Nessun v'ha visto?
3 Act 4: Suicidio!
4 Act 4: Ecco il velen di Laura
5 Act 4: Enzo! Sei tu!
6 Act 4: O furibonda iena!
7 Act 4: Ten va, serenata
8 Act 4: La barca s'avvicina
9 Act 4: A te questo rosario
10 Act 4: Ora posso morir
11 Act 4: Si, il patto mantengo
12 Appendix: Maria Callas: Three Arias: Norma: Costa
13 Appendix: Maria Callas: Three Arias: I Puritani: O
14 Appendix: Maria Callas: Three Arias: Tristan and I
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PONCHIELLI: La Gioconda, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

VERDI: Un Ballo in Maschera
CALLAS, Maria: A Portrait
MCCORMACK, John: The Acoustic Recordings
BELLINI: Norma 8110325-27 12/01/2004 £23.99
Few in stock Buy +
VERDI: La Traviata 8110300-01 12/01/2004 £18.99
Few in stock Buy +
PUCCINI: Turandot 8110193-94 10/01/2002 £18.99
Out of stock
CARUSO, Enrico: Complete Recordings, Vol. 5 8110720 04/01/2001 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
CARUSO, Enrico: Complete Recordings, Vol. 2 8110704 08/01/2000 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
CARUSO, Enrico: Complete Recordings, Vol. 1 8110703 07/01/2000 £11.99
Out of stock
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items