PISTON: Chamber Music

Buy + Add To Wish List + £12.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 5-7 working days
\The art of composition is never completed. It is a lifetime's continuing pursuit", wrote the American composer, Walter Piston. Born in 1894, he was a self-taught violinist, pianist and saxophonist earning a living playing in dance halls, hotels and restaurants. He was twenty-six before he began to study composition, eventually moving to Paris as a pupil of Dukas and Nadia Boulanger. Though his music was influenced by their teaching, his individuality and Americanism is evident throughout his modest catalogue of music. Central to his output were eight fine symphonies, two violin concertos, and the famous ballet, The Incredible Flutist. Most of his chamber music comes from his later life, and combine his ready sense of good humour with an attractive melodic content.

Disc: 1
Piano Quintet
1 Allegro moderato grazioso
2 Andantino con espressione
3 Vivace e leggero
4 Allegro non troppo
5 Adagio espressivo
6 Leggerissimo e vivace assai
7 Energico
8 Leggero e scorrevole
9 Adagio sostenuto
10 Allegro vivo
11 Allegro comodo
12 Adagio
13 Allegro vivo
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PISTON: Chamber Music, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, X and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Taneyev, String Quartets No.8 & No.2
Piston: String Quartets Nos 1/ 3/ 5
GOTTSCHALK: Escenas Campestres Cubanas / Gran Overture / Symphonie Romantique No. 2
PISTON: Symphonies Nos. 2 and 6
PISTON: Symphony No. 4 / Three New England Sketches 8559162 04/01/2003 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
BARBER: Violin Concerto / Serenade for Strings / Souvenirs 8559044 11/01/2001 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
SCHNITTKE: Piano Quintet / String Trio / Stille Musik 8554728 09/01/2000 £12.99
PISTON: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 / Fantasia for Violin 8559003 01/01/2000 £12.99
Out of stock
MARTINU: Chamber Music 8553916 01/01/2000 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
LEES: Symphony No. 4, 'Memorial Candles' 8559002 01/01/2000 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My basket: 0 items