Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed

PHILIDOR, F-A.D.: Carmen saeculare / Overtures

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Fran?ºois-Andr?® Danican Philidor pursued successful parallel careers as the composer of over 21 operas and as a chess virtuoso, known not least for his skill in simultaneous blindfold games. His oratorio, 'Carmen s?ªculare', is a setting of poems by Horace associated with the Roman centennial celebrations of 17 B.C. It was written at the instigation of the Italian scholar Giuseppe Baretti, who chose the Latin texts and sought 'a man able to temper alternately the solemnity of church-music with the brilliancy of the theatrical'. This majestic, and at times operatic work is coupled with overtures to three of Philidor's popular and brilliant comic operas. This disc brings together a wide variety of esteemed artists and orchestras from all over Europe, including the feted Prague Chamber Orchestra and the Orchestra della Svizzera Italia.
Disc: 1
Le marechal ferrant: Overture, "Symphony No. 27 in
1 I. Allegro
2 II. Andante con spirito
3 III. Presto
4 Ouverture
5 Prologue: Odi profanum vulgus (tenor)
6 Part I: Spiritum Phoebus mihi (tenor)
7 Part I: Deliae tutela Deae fugaces (tenor, chorus)
8 Part I: Nupta iam dices (tenor, chorus)
9 Part II: Dive, quem proles Niobea magnae (chorus)
10 Part II: Ceteris maior, tibi miles impar (bass)
11 Part II: Ille, mordaci velu icta ferro (bass, chor
12 Part II: Ni tuis flexus Venerisque gratae (soprano
13 Part II: Doctor argutae fidicen Thaliae (chorus)
14 Part III: Dianam tenerae dicite virgines (soprano,
15 Part III: Vos laetam fluviis et nemorum coma (teno
16 Part III: Hic bellum lacrimosum (soloists, chorus)
Disc: 2
Tom Jones: Overture
1 Part IV: Phoebe silvarumque potens Diana (soprano,
2 Part IV: Alme Sol, curru nitido diem (bass, chorus
3 Part IV: Rite maturos aperire partus (soprano)
4 Part IV: Certus undenos decies per annos (chorus)
5 Part IV: Vosque veraces cecinisse, Parcae (bass)
6 Part IV: Fertilis frugum pecorisque Tellus (sopran
7 Part IV: Conditio mitis placidusque (soloists, cho
8 Part IV: Roma si vestrum est opus (tenor)
9 Part IV: Di probos mores docili iuventae (tenor)
10 Part IV: Quaeque vos bobus veneratur albis (bass,
11 Part IV: Iam mari terraque manus potentes (tenor)
12 Part IV: Iam Fides et Pax et Honos Pudorque (tenor
13 Part IV: Augur et fulgente decorus arcu (mezzo-sop
14 Part IV: Quaeque Aventinum tenet Algidumque (soloi
15 Part IV: Haec Iovem sentire Deosque cunctos (soloi
16 Le sorcier: Overture
17 Tom Jones: Overture
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PHILIDOR, F-A.D.: Carmen saeculare / Overtures, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Schubert: Overtures Vol.2
BENDA, F.: Violin Concerto / BENDA, J. A.: Viola Concerto
GOSSEC: Grande Messe des Morts / Symphonie a 17 parties
CHERUBINI: Requiem / Marche funebre
CASELLA: Paganiniana / Serenata / La Giara 8553706 01/01/2000 £7.99
Out of stock
BANCHIERI: Il Zabaione Musicale 8553785 01/01/2000 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
BENDA, J. A.: Sinfonias Nos. 1-6 8553408 01/01/2000 £7.99
Out of stock
BENDA, J. A.: Sinfonias Nos. 7-12 8553409 01/01/2000 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Romance 8553216 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
BUXTEHUDE: Membra Jesu Nostri 8553787 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items