PENDERECKI: Te Deum / Hymne an den Heiligen Daniel / Polymorphia / Ciaconna

Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Since 1966, with the composition of the 'St Luke Passion' (Naxos 8.557149), Penderecki has enjoyed an international reputation for music that blends direct, emotional appeal with contemporary compositional techniques. The neo-Romantic choral work, 'Te Deum', was inspired by the anointing of Karol Wojtyla as the first Polish Pope in 1978. Although Penderecki's recent choral works have tended to be similarly monumental in scale, he has written several of a more compact nature, such as 'Hymne an den heiligen' Daniel, whose opening ranks as one of the composer's most affecting. This disc closes with two works for strings: the experimental 'Polymorphia' from 1961, and the expressive Chaconne, written in 2005 as a tribute to the late Pope John Paul II.
Disc: 1
Polish Requiem: Ciaconna
1 Te Deum laudamus -
2 Te Martyrum candidatus laudat exercitus -
3 (Boze cos Polske -) Salvum fac populum tuum, Domin
4 Hymne an den Heiligen Daniel
5 Polymorphia
6 Polish Requiem: Ciaconna
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PENDERECKI: Te Deum / Hymne an den Heiligen Daniel / Polymorphia / Ciaconna, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Brahms: Choral Music
Penderecki: Viola Concerto/ Cello Concerto No.2
SZYMANOWSKI: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2
KILAR: Bogurodzica / Piano Concerto / Hoary Fog / Koscielec 1909 8557813 06/01/2006 £11.99
MAHLER: Symphony No. 8, "Symphony of a Thousand" 8550533-34 03/01/2006 £18.99
PENDERECKI: A Polish Requiem 8557386-87 10/01/2004 £18.99
Few in stock Buy +
PENDERECKI: St. Luke Passion 8557149 11/01/2003 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
PENDERECKI: Symphony No. 3 / Threnody 8554491 01/01/2000 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items