Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed


Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
We could also have called this disc 'The Ilya Kaler Showcase', as he is the dazzling soloist in the Violin Concertos and the 24 Caprices. The American Record Guide described them as \in a class by themselves", and the Gramophone described him as "a first-rate fiddler".

Paganini was such an incredible virtuoso that in his lifetime rumours were rife that he was possessed of the devil, a fact greatly inflamed by his appearance. He was also a highly suspicious man, the scores of his works for violin and orchestra being devoid of the violin part so that no one could become his rival in his own music.

We know the date of composition of the second concerto as 1826, but the first is more doubtful, and probably as early as 1817. They are both demonstrations of violin technique, his frequent use of playing plucked notes (pizzicati) with the left hand creating a cascade of notes.

He also composed a considerable amount of music for other instruments including works for violin and guitar, and the Gramophone magazine writing about the Cantone di Sonata included on this disc says "it is unlikely that the Centone will ever be better played".

Disc: 1
Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 6
1 Rondo
2 Adagio
3 Rondoncino
4 Romanza
5 Andantino variato
6 No. 1 in E major
7 No. 5 in A minor
8 No. 9 in E major
9 Adagio
10 Adagio assai espressivo
11 Rondeau: Allegretto con brio scherzando
12 No. 13 in B flat major
13 No. 20 in D major
14 No. 24 in A minor
15 Cantabile in D major, Op. 17
16 Rondo: Allegro spirituoso
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PAGANINI, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Discover the Classics, Vol. 3
The Lark Ascending: Violin Showpieces
PAGANINI: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2
Romance 8553216 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
PAGANINI: Music for Violin and Guitar, Vol. 1 8550690 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
PAGANINI: Music for Violin and Guitar, Vol. 2 8550759 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
PAGANINI: Centone di Sonate, Vol. 1 8553141 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
PAGANINI: Centone di Sonate, Vol. 2 8553142 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
PAGANINI: Centone di Sonate, Vol. 3 8553143 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items