Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

PACIUS: The Hunt of King Charles

Buy + Add To Wish List + £23.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
This charming opera by the undeservedly little-known 'father of Finnish music' Fredrik Pacius, 'The Hunt of King Charles', was premi?¿red in Helsinki in 1852. The Finnish composer Carl Ludvig Lithander had already composed several Singspiele, but these works have only been performed - if at all - in Sweden. 'The Hunt of King Charles' was thus the first true opera written in Finland. There are occasional hints of the Finnish folk style, but the opera does not aim to establish a specifically Finnish Idiom. Nevertheless, its first performance was seen as a landmark in Finnish music, and despite its original Swedish libretto and Germanic musical style, has always been regarded as a celebration of Finnish nationalism. The opera, which has not yet reached the heights of fame achieved by Pacius' third opera 'Loreley', is based on the historical events involving King Charles XI of Sweden-Finland, and is set in 1671, a year before the teenage Charles assumed full responsibility for government. There are clear influences from Weber's 'Oberon'.
Disc: 1
The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsast
1 Act I, Scene 1: Overture
2 Act I, Scene 1: Huntsmen's Chorus: Halloo! Kautta
3 Act I, Scene 1: Quintet: Kas niin, nyt veikot, pys
4 Act I, Scene 1: Drinking Song: Juo, nauti, haavehe
5 Act I, Scene 1: Dialogue: Kuninkaan malja! (I toas
6 Act I, Scene 1: Quintet: Niin, marski tuuma hurja!
7 Act I, Scene 2: Duet of two ladies-in-waiting: Tuo
8 Act I, Scene 3: Dialogue: Kuningas viipyy viela (T
9 Act I, Scene 3: Ensemble: Min kauhean nain turmaty
10 Act I, Scene 4: Dialogue: Min' oot nakoinen! (My c
11 Act I, Scene 5: Dialogue: Aitinsa kera tuoll' kay
12 Act I, Scene 5: Recitative and Aria: Nyt on han mu
13 Act I, Scene 5: Dialogue: Oletko yksin? (Are you a
14 Act I, Scene 6: Target-shooting Chorus: Kilvan nyt
15 Act II, Scene 1: Ballad: Ja nuori merenneito han s
16 Act II, Scene 1: Dialogue: Aina muistelen tuot pik
17 Act II, Scene 2: Duet: Laps kaunis, ehtoota! (Good
18 Act II, Scene 3: Duet: Kay kanssain armas, kay poi
19 Act II, Scene 3: Dialogue: Pakene, Jonathan! (Flee
Disc: 2
The Hunt of King Charles (Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsast
1 Act II, Scene 4: Dialogue: Vaan sano kuinka mahti
2 Act II, Scene 5: Aria: Oi yon kaukomaista taivon s
3 Act II, Scene 6: Dialogue: On kelpo tuuli, meri va
4 Act II, Scene 6: Shanty and Chorus: Se miesi kehno
5 Act II, Scene 7: Dialogue: Kiitos teille! (My than
6 Act II, Scene 7: Finale: Kuin? Jonathan? (What? Jo
7 Act III, Scene 1: Chorus of the Market-people: Hei
8 Act III, Scene 1: Kaappiin tanne katschokaat (Who
9 Act III, Scene 2: Dialogue: Tottako, etta Jonathan
10 Act III, Scene 2-3: Couplet and Dialogue: Kuningas
11 Act III, Scene 4: Dialogue: Anteeksi, olette liian
12 Act III, Scene 5: Roundelay: Ja tahdotte tietaa, j
13 Act III, Scene 5: Dialogue and Chorus: Petosta! (T
14 Act III, Scene 6: Dialogue: Takaisin, taikka oitis
15 Act III, Scene 7-8: Trio and Chorus: Armahin tytto
16 Act III, Scene 9: Dialogue: Kaarle! (My Charles!)
17 Act III, Scene 10: Dialogue: Nyt palkan saakoon us
18 Act III, Scene 10: Ballad: Ja meren nuori impi (Th
19 Act III, Scene 10: Dialogue: Vapaasti valita saat,
20 Act III, Scene 10: Finale: Armonsa taa lain kuolon
21 Act III, Scene 11: Scene: Ties outo huhu uskomaton
22 Act III, Scene 11: Hymn: Nyt kauaksi Suomi jaada s
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PACIUS: The Hunt of King Charles, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Xian Xing-hi: Yellow River Cantata
In Memoriam Lili Boulanger
STRAUSS Jr. J.: Edition Vol.50
MOSONYI: Piano Works Vol.4
TOMLINSON: Silverthorn Suite / Little Serenade 8223413 01/06/2000 £13.99
Out of stock
TOMLINSON: First Suite of English Folk-Dances 8223513 01/06/2000 £13.99
Few in stock Buy +
BINGE: The Watermill / Scottish Rhapsody 8223515 01/06/2000 £13.99
Sea/in the Forest/Five Pr 8223323 01/05/2000 £13.99
Few in stock Buy +
Romantic Wind Music 8223356 01/05/2000 £13.99
Few in stock Buy +
MEDTNER: Sonata Op. 5 / Sonata-Triad Op. 11 8223268 01/05/2000 £13.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items