Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed


Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Though Newman was one of the great Hollywood composers, he was very much a scene painter, as opposed to the 'symphonic' scores of Korngold and Herrmann. More famous was his score for the 'Hunchback of Notre Dame', written for the RKO 1939 film and starring Charles Laughton as the Hunchback. It is the grotesque aspects which find Newman at his most imaginative, and it was the music that is often attributed as causing that terror in the film. From the complete score John Morgan has taken 17 extracts to form this extended suite of music lasting almost 39 minutes, using the full string section of a symphony orchestra. 'Beau Geste' dates from 1939, and managed to capture the grim life in the Foreign Legion with the back-drop of the empty Sahara Desert. In this suite Stromberg has brought together eight sections, the opening Prelude setting the scene for a film of danger and excitement.
Item number 8570187
Barcode 747313018772
Release date 01/10/2007
Label Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
The Hunchback of Notre Dame (restored and reconstr
1 All About Eve Suite
2 Prelude
3 The Early Years
4 Chasing a Mouse
5 Blue Water Sapphire - Farewell
6 March Out
7 Battle
8 A Viking's Funeral
9 Final - End Cast
10 Main Title and Forward
11 The Gypsies
12 The Festival
13 In the King's Box
14 The Dance of Death
15 Garbage at Gringoire
16 Esmeralda's Dance
17 Thank You Mother of God
18 Whipping
19 Esmeralda Walks up Steps
20 A Woman Has Bewitched Me
21 Hallelujah
22 Esmeralda in Bell Tower
23 Clopin Calls Charge
24 Victory at Notre Dame
25 Clopin on Ground - Hallelujah Reprise
26 End Cast
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Newman: THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME / BEAU GESTE, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Hanson: Symphony No.3/ Merry Mount Suit
R-Korsakov: Orchestral Suites
Cordero: Caribbean Concertos For Guitar
Braga Santos: Alfama 8572815 28/11/2011 £7.99
Richter: Sonata Da Camera For Flute, Harsichord And Cello 8572030 28/11/2011 £6.49
Bowen: Viola Sonatas 1 / 2 8572580 28/11/2011 £6.99
Piazzolla: Tango Distinto 8572596 28/11/2011 £6.49
Few in stock Buy +
Hill: String Quartets Vol.4 8572844 28/11/2011 £7.99
Meyer: String Quartets Nos. 9/ 11/ 12 8572656 28/11/2011 £7.99
Image Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items