MOISEIWITSCH, Benno: Acoustic Recordings 1916-1925

Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 5-7 working days
Born in Odessa, 'the cradle of Russian pianism' in 1890, Benno Moiseiwitsch was one of the great pianists of the twentieth century. Countless critics have praised Moiseiwitsch's Naxos Historical series, commenting on his \artistry as consummate as it is endearing." 'Gramophone' on Naxos 8110675.

Volume 10 of the Naxos Moiseiwitsch Edition features a superlative reading of Mendelssohn's Piano Concerto No. 1, which became obsolete almost as soon as it was issued owing to the vast improvement in sound quality that was obtainable with the introduction of electrical recording a few months later. Nevertheless, it captures Moiseiwitsch's youthful energy and vitality, as well as some typically poetic playing in the slow movement.

"He [Moiseiwitsch] stands grander, traditional virtues on their head, replacing thunder and solidity with aristocratic rhetoric. Few pianists have responded to terms such as leggierement with a more winning charm.....nothing can dim the lustre of either performance. We can only beg Naxos for more Moiseiwitsch". 'Gramophone' on Naxos 8.110776."
Disc: 1
Piano Concerto No. 1. in G minor, Op. 25
1 Gavotte et Variations
2 Premier livre de pieces de clavecin, Suite No. 1:
3 Pastorale in E minor - Capriccio in E major (arr.
4 Schubert - 12 Lieder, S558/R243: No. 9. Standchen
5 Piano Sonata No. 1 in C major, Op. 24, J. 138: IV.
6 Fantasiestucke, Op. 12: No. 7. Traumes Wirren
7 Schumann - Fruhlingsnacht, S568/R256
8 8 Piano Pieces, Op. 76: No. 2. Capriccio in B mino
9 Le roi s'amuse: No. 6. Passepied (arr. for piano)
10 La Jongleuse, Op. 52, No. 4
11 Barcarolle No. 1 in F minor, Op. 30, No. 1
12 Sorochintsy Fair: Gopak (Hopak)
13 Nocturne for the Left Hand in D flat major, Op. 9,
14 24 Preludes, Op. 17: No. 19. Bird Song
15 24 Preludes, Op. 17: No. 12. The Sea
16 Finnish Rhythms, Op. 31: No. 5. West Finnish Dance
17 Arabesque en forme d'Etude, Op. 45, No. 1
18 Preludes, Book 1: No. 12. Minstrels
19 Suite bergamasque: III. Clair de lune
20 Estampes: No. 3. Jardins sous le pluie
21 Jeux d'eau
22 I. Molto allegro con fuoco
23 II. Andante
24 III. Presto - Molto allegro e vivace
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like MOISEIWITSCH, Benno: Acoustic Recordings 1916-1925, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, X and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonatas Nos. 8, 14 and 21
CASALS, Pablo: Encores and Transcriptions, Vol. 4
DELIUS: Piano Concerto / RAVEL: Jeux d'eau
CHALIAPIN, Feodor: A Vocal Portrait
BEETHOVEN: 'Moonlight' Sonata / CHOPIN: Mazurkas 8110684 06/01/2002 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
LISZT: Hungarian Rhapsody / WEBER: Rondo Brillante 8110669 01/01/2001 £11.99
Out of stock
SCHUMANN, R.: Kinderszenen / MUSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition 8110668 01/01/2001 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Classical Piano Music 8560004 01/01/2000 £12.99
Item is discontinued.
Discover the Classics, Vol. 1 8550035-36 12/01/1999 £18.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My basket: 0 items