Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

MILTON: Great Poets (The) (Bond Samantha/ Derek Jacobi) (Naxos Audio Books: NA18.5512)

Add To Wish List + £8.99 - Item is discontinued.

Milton stands alongside Shakespeare and the Bible in the power of his verse and its continuing impact. He is one of the great voices of English poetry. Born in 1608, he is best known for his epic Paradise Lost, but most of his writing life was spent composing shorter works. This collection brings together his brilliant early poems, including Il Penseroso, L'Allegro and Lycidas, as well as some of the finest and most touching works of his maturity, such as On His Blindness and Methought I saw my late espoused saint. This anthology will serve as an introduction, or as a reminder of the range and variety of John Milton's great gifts.
Item number NA185512
Barcode 9789626348550
Release date 28/01/2008
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
The Great Poets
1 At a Vacation Exercise
2 L’Allegro
3 Il Penseroso
4 cont. Or let my lamp, at midnight hour…
5 At a Solemn Musick
6 To Mr. H Lawes, on his Aires
7 On Time
8 On Shakespeare
9 On the morning of Christ’s Nativity
10 cont. Yea Truth, and Justice then…
11 Sonnet: To the Lord General Cromwell
12 Sonnet: On the detraction which followed…
13 Sonnet: On the Late Massacre in Piedmont
14 Lycidas
15 cont. It was that fatal and perfidious bark…
16 Sonnet: To the Nightingale
17 Sonnet: On my 23rd Birthday
18 from Paradise Lost – opening of Book I
19 from Paradise Lost – Book I – The fall of Mulciber
20 from Paradise Lost – opening of Book II
21 from Paradise Lost – from Book XII
22 from Paradise Regained
23 Sonnet: Upon a Deceased Wife
24 Sonnet: On his Blindness
25 Sonnet: To Cyriack Skinner
26 from Samson Agonistes
27 The destruction of the Temple
28 The Final Chorus from Samson Agonistes
29 from Comus, a Masque
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like MILTON: Great Poets (The) (Bond Samantha/ Derek Jacobi) (Naxos Audio Books: NA18.5512), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items