Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

MARSHALL: Our Island Story (unabridged), Vol. 1 (Anna Bentinck/ Daniel Philpott) (Naxos Audio Books: NA439512)

Add To Wish List + £16.99 - Item is discontinued.

Our Island Story by H.E. Marshall is an Edwardian history book for younger listeners (aged six-twelve) which tells the story of England, concluding with the reign of Queen Victoria. Antonia Fraser and many other current historians declare that it was this book that opened the delights of history for them. It fell from fashion in the 1960s, but its recent re-release in hardback has seen it become a publishing surprise in the UK, with sales of some 75,000 copies in a few months. Now, Naxos AudioBooks releases it unabridged in three volumes released in March 2006, April 2006 and May 2006, divided into three clear periods of history. Though slightly edited to take account of historical changes and attitudes, it is presented unabridged.
Item number NA439512
Barcode 9789626343951
Release date 03/04/2006
Media type CD
Number of units 4
Disc: 1
Our Island Story, Chapters I - XXXIV: From the Rom
1 Chapter I: The Stories of Albion and Brutus
2 Chapter II: The Coming of the Romans
3 Chapter III: The Romans Come Again
4 Chapter IV: How Caligula Conquered Britain
5 Chapter V: The Story of a Warrior Queen (Boadicea)
6 Chapter VI: The Last of the Romans
7 Chapter VII: The Story of St. Alban
8 Chapter VIII: Vortigern and King Constans
9 Chapter IX: The Story of the Coming of Hengist and
Disc: 2
Our Island Story, Chapters I - XXXIV: From the Rom
1 Chapter X: Hengist's Treachery
2 Chapter XI: How the Giant's Dance was Brought to B
3 Chapter XII: The Coming of Arthur
4 Chapter XIII: The Founding of the Round Table
5 Chapter XIV: The Story of Gregory and the Pretty C
6 Chapter XV: How King Alfred Learned to Read
7 Chapter XVI: King Alfred in the Cowherd's Cottage
8 Chapter XVII: More About Alfred the Great
9 Chapter XVIII: Ethelred the Unready
Disc: 3
Our Island Story, Chapters I - XXXIV: From the Rom
1 Chapter XIX: How Edmund Ironside Fought for the Cr
2 Chapter XX: Canute and the Waves
3 Chapter XXI: Edward the Confessor
4 Chapter XXII: Harold
5 Chapter XXIII: The Battle of Stamford Bridge
6 Chapter XXIV: The Battle of Hastings
7 Chapter XXV: William the Conqueror – Hereward the
8 Chapter XXVI: William the Conqueror – Death of the
Disc: 4
Our Island Story, Chapters I - XXXIV: From the Rom
1 Chapter XXVII: The Story of William the Red
2 Chapter XXVIII: Henry I – The Story of the ‘White
3 Chapter XXIX: The Story of King Stephen
4 Chapter XXX: Henry Plantagenet – Gilbert and Rohes
5 Chapter XXXI: Henry Plantagenet – The Conquest of
6 Chapter XXXII: Henry Plantagenet – Thomas
7 Chapter XXXIII: The Story of Richard Coeur de Lion
8 Chapter XXXIV: The Story of How Blondel Found the
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like MARSHALL: Our Island Story (unabridged), Vol. 1 (Anna Bentinck/ Daniel Philpott) (Naxos Audio Books: NA439512), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Morris: Pax Britannica (Abridged) (Roy McMillan) (Naxos Audio Books: NA0037)
Lucretius: The Nature Of Things (Hugh Ross) (Naxos Audio Books: NA0017)
Gregson: Cathedrals In A Nutshell (Naxos Audio Books: NA138712)
Venice (Abridged Non-Fiction) (Naxos Audio Books: NA435312)
The Pleasures Of The Garden (Unabridged Non-Fiction) (Naxos Audio Books: NA435912) NA435912 01/03/2010 £16.99
Item is discontinued.
The French Revolution (Unabridged Non-Fiction) (Naxos Audio Books: NA198612) NA198612 26/10/2009 £8.99
Item is discontinued.
BARNES: Bad Birdwatcher's companion NA444612 02/04/2007 £16.99
Item is discontinued.
PLATO: Symposium (unabridged) (Andrew Branch/ Christopher Scott/ Daniel Flynn/ David Shaw-Parker/ David Timson/ G. Griffin/ Gordon Griffin/ Hayward Morse/ Susan Sheridan/ Tim Bentinck) (Naxos Audio Books: NA238312) NA238312 30/01/2006 £10.99
Item is discontinued.
PHILOSOPHY - A Very Short Introduction (Maurice West) (Naxos Audio Books: NA334412) NA334412 03/10/2005 £13.99
Item is discontinued.
JINANANDA: The Middle Way - the Story of Buddhism (Anton Lesser/ David Timson/ Heathcote Williams/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos Audio Books: NA314612) NA314612 20/10/2000 £13.99
Item is discontinued.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items