Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed


Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Item number NA495112
Barcode 9789626349519
Release date 02/03/2009
Label Naxos AudioBooks
Media type CD
Number of units 4
Artists David Timson
Frances Jeater
Jeremy Siepmann
Lars Andersson
Nigel Anthony
Roger May
Sam Dastor
Steve Hodson
Composers David Timson
Jeremy Siepmann
Disc: 1
1 Symphony No. 92 in G ('Oxford', Mvt 4: Presto)
2 Missa brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo: 'Kleine Orgelm
3 Pranks, a narrow escape and expulsion
4 Poverty, hunger and determination
5 C.P.E. Bach: Keyboard Sonata in A, Wq. 65/37 (Mvt
6 Further pranks, apprenticeship and a helping hand
7 String Quartet in E flat, Op. 33 No. 2 (Mvt 4: Fin
8 Early fame and first sonatas
9 Piano Sonata L. 11 in B flat, Hob.XVI:2 (Mvt 1: Mo
10 Patronage, marriage and first symphonies
11 Symphony No. 6 in D ('Le Matin', Mvt 1: Adagio-All
12 Haydn as servant and diplomat
13 Symphony No. 72 in D (Mvt 1: Allegro)
14 Curtain
Disc: 2
1 Finding his feet at the Esterhazy court
2 Cello Concerto in C major, Hob.VIIb:1 (Mvt 3: Alle
3 Reprimand, overwork, illness and inspiration
4 Piano Sonata L. 33 in C Minor, Hob.XVI:20 (Mvt 1:
5 'Sturm und Drang'
6 Symphony No. 45 in F sharp minor ('Farewell', Mvt
7 Mastery, history and profundity: a genius in full
8 String Quartet in F minor, Op. 20 No. 5 (Mvt 3: Ad
9 'Exile' at Esterhazy and enforced originality
10 Symphony No. 22 in E flat ('The Philosopher', Mvt
11 A diplomat of genius
12 Symphony No. 45 in F sharp minor ('Farewell', Mvt
13 Fire endured and commemorated
14 Symphony No. 70 in D (Mvt 4: Allegro con brio)
15 Curtain
Disc: 3
1 Haydn and opera
2 La fedelta premiata (Act One: Finale - 'Aiutatemi,
3 An affair and a friendship: Polzelli and Mozart
4 Mozart: String Quartet in C, K. 465 ('Dissonance',
5 String Quartet in F, Op. 55 No. 2 (Mvt 4: Finale:
6 Fame, servitude and loyalty: the unseen celebrity
7 Symphony No. 88 in G (Mvt 4: Finale: Allegro con s
8 Sprung from a gilded cage: Haydn goes to London
9 Symphony No. 96 in D ('The Miracle', Mvt 1: Adagio
10 The naked face of genius: triumph, glamour, depres
11 Symphony No. 94 in G ('The Surprise', Mvt 2: Andan
12 Haydn as foreign correspondent
13 Six English Canzonettas: Piercing Eyes
14 Haydn as statistical historian
15 Piano Trio in G, Hob.XV:25 (Mvt 3: Rondo all'ongar
Disc: 4
1 Return to Vienna (and an unusual new pupil)
2 Beethoven: Piano Trio in G, Op. 1 No. 2 (Finale: P
3 Once more to England
4 Symphony No. 100 in G ('Military', Mvt 2: Allegret
5 The homecoming hero
6 String Quartet in G, Op. 76 No. 3 (Mvt 2: Poco ada
7 Towards The Creation
8 The Creation ('Die Vorstellung des Chaos' - 'The R
9 Towards The Seasons; age begins to tell
10 The Seasons ('Hort das laute Geton' - 'Hark! The m
11 A sad old age
12 The Creation ('Die Himmel erzahlen' - 'The Heavens
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like JOSEPH HAYDN, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Siepmann: Life And Works Liszt
Hardyment: The Christmas Collection
From Shakespeare With Love
BECKETT: Waiting for Godot
DOYLE: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, II NA317012 01/06/2005 £13.99
COWARD: Blithe Spirit NA226312 01/08/2004 £10.99
SHAKESPEARE: Othello NA320612 01/07/2004 £13.99
SHAKESPEARE: King Lear NA324412 01/12/2001 £13.99
SHAKESPEARE: A Midsummer Night's Dream NA315012 01/10/2000 £13.99
SHAKESPEARE: Twelfth Night NA218112 01/02/2000 £10.99
Image Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items