Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed

Johann Sebastian Bach/Robert Mazimilian Helmschrott: Magnificat/Lumen

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Shortly after taking up the position of Thomaskantor in Leipzig in 1723, Bach wrote a Magnificat in E flat
major for performance at Christmas. Around a decade later he revised the work, transposing it down
to D major and making it more concise. Utilising a Biblical text, the piece is suffused with a series of
memorable arias and choruses and orchestrated with spectacular grandeur. Lumen is a contemporary
musical dialogue that urges empathy between the three Abrahamic religions. Translating the oratorio
form into a ‘unity of diversity’, Robert M. Helmschrott has converted the poetry of the Old and New
Testaments, the Torah and Qur’an into an interfaith ‘language of sounds and singing’.
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Johann Sebastian Bach/Robert Mazimilian Helmschrott: Magnificat/Lumen, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Gaetano Donizetti: Vesper Psalms
Johann Sebastian Bach: St Matthew Passion
Amanda Mole Organ Laureate Recital: Buxtehude, Alain, Reger, Bruhns, J.S. Bach, Muhly, Messiaen
The Great Composers: J.S. Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Grieg, Handel, Mozart, Puccini, Tchaikovsky
Johann Simon Mayr: I Cherusci 8660399-400 01/02/2019 £16.99
Vojin Kocic Guitar Laureate Recital 8573906 01/02/2019 £7.99
Johann Simon Mayr: Motets, Vol. 2 8573909 01/12/2018 £7.99
Johann Simon Mayr: Stabat mater in F minor 8573781 01/01/2017 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Johann Simon Mayr: Miserere 8573782 01/01/2017 £7.99
DONIZETTI:MESSA DI GLORIA 8573605 11/01/2016 £7.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items