HANSON: Merry Mount

Buy + Add To Wish List + £18.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Born in Nebraska, of Scandinavian heritage, Howard Hanson was influenced as much by Jean Sibelius as by his American surroundings. The plot of his 1933 opera, 'Merry Mount', set in New England in 1625 during a conflict between the Puritans and the Cavaliers, is anything but merry. However, the composer described the music as \warm-blooded...essentially a lyrical work [that] makes use of broad melodic lines as often as possible". This recording derives from a critically acclaimed pair of concert performances by Seattle Symphony and Gerard Schwarz in October 1996. "
Disc: 1
Merry Mount, Op. 31
1 Act I: Prelude
2 Act I: Be as a lion, dread Jehovah… From plots of
3 Act I: Ah - I deny thy Christ (Bradford, Banks, Te
4 Act I: A savoury discourse, good Master Bradford (
5 Act I: Last night came One that paced a-down the s
6 Act I: My son, Thou'rt over-ripe for marriage! (Te
7 Act I: The willow keep to thatch our sleep (Plenti
8 Act I: Plentiful Tewke hath catched the preacher!
9 Act I: Gi' you good night, sir… (Prence, Myles Bro
10 Act I: Scratch a Roundhead, find a rebel … Thrones
11 Act I: Right rev'rend priest, our holy joy … Respe
12 Act I: Marigold! Lady! … Let us be lions of Jehova
Disc: 2
Merry Mount, Op. 31
1 Act II Scene 1: Prelude - I wind and I wind, My tr
2 Act II Scene 1: From forth the hill … I christen '
3 Act II Scene 1: Long Live the Lady (Men and Women)
4 Act II Scene 1: Marigold! When the morning stars t
5 Act II Scene 1: Methinks I see th'infernal rendezv
6 Act II Scene 2: O pity me! Thou alone of women Can
7 Act II Scene 2: Let them strike twice, And I will
8 Act II Scene 2: Hale her to the village, A prisone
9 Act II Scene 2: Almighty Father, My King and my Go
10 Act II Scene 2: Chorus of Mystic Voices
11 Act II Scene 3: Alleluia! Alleluia! (Bradford, Luc
12 Act II Scene 3: Now thou art mine (Lucifer, Monste
13 Act II Scene 3: Rise up, my love my fair one (Brad
14 Act III Scene 1: Prelude
15 Act III Scene 2: Gird you with Sackcloth (Tewke, P
16 Act III Scene 2: Never more shall prayer ravish th
17 Act III Scene 2: Woe, woe! Lost sheep are we (Puri
18 Act III Scene 2: No witch am I; But one that long
19 Act III Scene 2: Ay, even now thy lover frets at H
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like HANSON: Merry Mount, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Hanson: Symphony No. 4/ Symphony No. 5
Hanson: Symphony No.3/ Merry Mount Suit
Hanson: Symphony No. 1 'Nordic'/ The Lament For Beowulf
Schuman W: The Complete Published Symphonies
BERLINSKI: Symphonic Visions for Orchestra 8559446 09/01/2006 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
SHOSTAKOVICH: October, Op. 132 8557812 01/01/2006 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
KLEZMER CONCERTOS AND ENCORES 8559403 10/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
DIAMOND: Symphony No. 3 / Psalm / Kaddish 8559155 07/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
HOVHANESS: Symphony No. 22 / Cello Concerto 8559158 05/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
CRESTON: Symphony No. 5 / Toccata / Partita 8559153 02/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items