Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

GLUCK: Alceste

Add To Wish List + £24.99 - Item is discontinued.

The Vienna version of 'Alceste' was Gluck's second reform opera after 'Orfeo ed Euridice'. The libretto and music revolve around a self-sacrificing main character, and it is quite probable that the courageous bearing of Empress Maria Theresia while mourning her husband provided Gluck with the impetus for this material. 'Alceste' is reminiscent of Beethoven's subsequent 'Fidelio' as a pure anthem to conjugal love. As 'Orfeo' before it, 'Alceste' did not achieve major success at the first performance of the Vienna version on 26 December 1767, but instead became widely-known when performed as a 'trag?®die op?®ra' nine years later in Paris, after the addition of ballet music in French, the version we see performed here. This production from 2006 was acclaimed as the Opera Production of the Year, by German magazine 'Opernwelt'. The title role is performed by Catherine Naglestad, voted Female Opera Singer of the Year 2006.
Item number 101251
Barcode 807280125191
Release date 29/01/2007
Media type DVD
Number of units 1
Artists Kaston, Motti
Ebbecke, Michael
Kim, Simon Nam Soo
Naglestad, Catherine
Probst, Wolfgang
Rydh, Johan
Kaasch, Donald
Smith, Catriona
Schneider, Bernhard
Composers Gluck, Christoph Willibald
Conductors Carydis, Constantinos
Orchestras Stuttgart State Opera Orchestra
Stuttgart State Opera Chorus
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like GLUCK: Alceste, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Puccini: Tosca
HARTMANN, K.A.: Simplicius Simplicissimus
WAGNER: Gotterdammerung
SCHOENBERG: Moses and Aron
WAGNER, R: Das Rheingold 8660170-71 01/02/2006 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
HANDEL: Alcina (NTSC) (Catherine Naglestad/ Stuttgart State Opera Orchestra) (Arthaus Dvd: 100339) 100339 21/01/2002 £24.99
Item is discontinued.
MOZART: Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail 100179 01/04/2001 £24.99
Few in stock Buy +
Il Giardino Armonico 100010 01/08/2000 £19.99
Few in stock Buy +
Mozart: Le Nozze di Figaro 100002 01/04/2000 £24.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items