Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Gluck: 300 Years

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Christoph Willibald
Alceste // Iphigénie en Tauride // Orfeo ed Euridice

Live from the Staatsoper Stuttgart, 2006
Alceste (Paris Version 1776)
Catherine Naglestad, Donald Kaasch,
Johan Rydh, Catriona Smith
Chorus and Orchestra of the Staatsoper Stuttgart

Conductor Constantinos Carydis
Stage Directors Jossi Wieler, Sergio Morabito

Live from the Opernhaus Zürich, 2001
Iphigénie en Tauride (1779)
Rodney Gilfry, Juliette Galstian, Deon van der Walt
Orchestra "La Scintilla" of the Opernhaus Zürich

Conductor William Christie
Stage Director Claus Guth

Live from the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, 1991
Orfeo ed Euridice (1762)
Jochen Kowalski, Gillian Webster, Jeremy Budd
Chorus and Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Conductor Hartmut Haenchen
Stage Director Harry Kupfer

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-1787), called the opera reformer of the 18th century, greatly influenced the development of music theatre in his time. In honour of his 300th birthday, Arthaus Musik releases this special Blu-ray filled with three prize-winning productions of his most popular operas. Alceste from Stuttgart, awarded "performance of the year" in 2006 by the magazine Opernwelt, Iphigénie en Tauride from Zurich, led by baroque specialist William Christie and Harry Kupfer's legendary production of Orfeo ed Euridice from the Royal Opera House Covent Garden with Jochen Kowalski in the title role, which won the Olivier Award.

Bonus: Winds of Change, Winds of Love - The Life of Christoph Willibald Gluck (A Film by Inger Åby)

Subtitle Languages: GB, DE, FR, ES, IT
Running Time: 356 mins + 60 mins (Bonus)
FSK: 0
Region Code: worldwide
Item number 108111
Barcode 807280811193
Release date 28/07/2014
Category Classical Concert | DVDs
Media type BLU-RAY DVD
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Gluck: 300 Years, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Mats Ek: Appartement
New Year Concert 2006
Dvorak: Masterworks
Naske: Die Rote Zora
Tchaikovsky: Magifique 108034 28/11/2011 £29.99
Tchaikovsky: Magifique 101585 28/11/2011 £24.99
Live Concert Dresden 100028 01/07/2000 £19.99
Few in stock Buy +
Berlin Gala: A Tribute to Carmen (NTSC) (Anne Sofie von Otter/ Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/ Bryn Terfel/ Claudio Abbado/ Gil Shaham/ Maurice Ravel/ Mikhail Pletnev/ Mikhail Pletnev/ Orfeon Donostiarra/ Roberto Alagna/ Sergei Rachmaninov) (Arthaus Dvd: 1 100027 15/05/2000 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
Johann Strauss Gala 100024 01/04/2000 £19.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAUSS I II: Johann Strauss Gala 100025 01/04/2000 £19.99
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items