DONIZETTI: Double Concerto / Flute Concertino / Clarinet Concertino

Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Gaetano Donizetti (1797-1848): Instrumental Concertos

Gaetano Donizetti, while generally known only as acomposer of operas, was in fact responsible for thecomposition of a great many other works, totalling 611in all. Instrumental works make up a relatively smallproportion of these and are apparently occasional inorigin. Nevertheless they are evidence of the skill of thecomposer and make interesting additions to the solorepertoire of the instruments employed. The works hererecorded are now also available in print.

Acknowledgement is due to Professor RaymondMeylan and Professor Johannes Wojciechowski, whohave traced and edited these works, as well as to theParis Biblioth?¿que Nationale, the Museo Donizettianoin Bergamo and the Paris Conservatoire National forallowing their publication.

The Sinfonia in G minor for woodwind had theoriginal title Sinfonia a soli instrumenti (di fiato), withthe dedication Dedicata al Sig. Nebbie Deleidi (del Servitore / Gaetano Donizetti / Bologna li 19,aprile 1817) (Dedicated to Signor Nebbie Deleidi by hisobedient servant Gaetano Donizetti, Bologna, 19thApril, 1817). The work has its origin in the composer'speriod of study in Bologna and has here beenreconstructed by Bernhard Pauler.

Donizetti's Concertino in C minor for flute andchamber orchestra is derived from a flute sonatapreserved in autograph in the Museo Donizettiano inBergamo (Composizioni giovanili, No. 5 in 64Fascicolo III.o). The title reads Suonata per / Flauto ePianoforte / per uso della Sinora/Marianna Pezzoli-Grattatoli / Bergamo Ii 15. Maggio 1819 (Sonata forFlute and Pianoforte for the use of Signora MariannaPezzoli-Grattatoli, Bergamo, 15th May, 1819).

The present first edition of Donizetti's Oboe Sonatais based on the original manuscript in the possession ofthe library of the Paris Conservatoire (Ms.4140). Itbears the title Suonata per / oboe e Pianoforte / di / G.D.

/ all'Amico Severino dgl'Antonj / L'autore D.D.D.

The Concerto in D minor for violin, cello andorchestra is derived from the autograph preserved in theParis Biblioth?¿que Nationale ( Ms. 4142). Beforeits acquisition by the Biblioth?¿que Nationale the hastilywritten manuscript, extending to some 44 pages, hadbeen in the private collection of one of the world's bestknown collectors, Charles Malherbe, subsequentlyarchivist at the Paris Opera. The manuscript cost him, asthe first page of the score reveals, the sum of 30 francsand 60 centimes. The dating of the work is not clear, butits general lay-out suggests that it belongs rather to theearly Bergamo period than the later period in Paris.

Donizetti's Concertino for cor anglais andorchestra was written for a fellow-student at theConservatory in Bologna. It carries the title Concertino/ Per Corno Inglese Sctitto / Dal Signor GaetanoDonizetti / per / il Sig. e Giovanni Catolfi / Alunno delLiceo Filarmonico / L'anno 1816. It was intended for aninstrument in G which is no longer in use, with a rangeof two octaves and a second, lying a fourth lower thanthe usual oboe of the time. For modern performance thecor anglais or the oboe d'amore are the most suitableinstruments.

The present version of Donizetti's Concertino forclarinet and orchestra is an attempt to reconstruct theoriginal form of the work from sketches in thecomposer's own hand for the first movement (middlepart of Ms. 4144, Biblioth?¿que Nationale), entitledEsquisse pour hautbois and for the second movementthe Museo Donizettiano Mss. Nos. 1 2a (score) and 12aCcl (piano reduction). The reconstruction has attemptedto link the two movements, with additions, transpositionand scoring of the first movement and a critical revisionof the very defective material for the second movement.

Donizetti's Sinfonia in D minor per la Morte diCapuzzzi was written for the funeral of AntonioCapuzzi (1753-1818), the violinist and leader of theorchestra of Santa Maria Maggiore in Bergamo. Theautograph score is in the Paris Biblioth?¿que Nationaleand the Museo Donizettiano in Bergamo and the presentedition is the work of Professor Marc Andreae.

Tamas Benedek
Disc: 1
Sinfonia in D minor per la Morte di Capuzzi: Largh
1 Sinfonia a soli instrumenti di fiato in G minor: A
2 Flute Sonata (Concertino) in C minor: Largo - Alle
3 I. Andante
4 II. Allegro
5 I. Allegro ma non troppo
6 II. Andante
7 III. Rondo (Allegro moderato)
8 Cor Anglais Concertino in G major: Andante con var
9 I. Andante sostenuto
10 II. Allegretto
11 Sinfonia in D minor per la Morte di Capuzzi: Largh
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like DONIZETTI: Double Concerto / Flute Concertino / Clarinet Concertino, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

MOZART: Piano Quintet, K. 452 / BEETHOVEN: Piano Quintet, Op. 16
MOZART: Clarinet Trio, 'Kegelstatt' / Clarinet Quartets 8550439 12/01/1999 £11.99
Out of stock
PERGOLESI: Stabat Mater / Orfeo 8550766 12/01/1999 £11.99
Out of stock
VIVALDI: Oboe Concertos, Vol. 1 8550859 12/01/1999 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
VIVALDI: Oboe Concertos, Vol. 2 8550860 12/01/1999 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Fantasia 8551166 12/01/1999 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items