Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

DICKENS: Oliver Twist (Anton Lesser/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos Audio Books: NA425912)

Add To Wish List + £16.99 - Item is discontinued.

The eighth novel in Naxos AudioBooks' series of the great works of Charles Dickens, Oliver Twist is Dickens' second novel. Coming shortly after The Pickwick Papers it is a thrilling study of childhood innocence thrust into the darkly comic world of Fagin, his apprentice the Artful Dodger and their gang of child thieves. Who will help the orphaned Oliver to escape from their clutches and discover his true history? The original story is even more powerful than the musical that popularised it. Anton Lesser reads with all his intensity and comic versatility.
Item number NA425912
Barcode 9789626342596
Release date 24/09/2004
Media type CD
Number of units 4
Artists Lesser, Anton
Composers Chailley, Jacques
Producers Soames, Nicolas
Disc: 1
Oliver Twist
1 Treats of the place where Oliver Twist was born an
2 Treats of Oliver Twist's growth, education, and bo
3 Relates how Oliver Twist was very near getting a p
4 Oliver, being offered another place, makes his fir
5 Oliver mingles with a new associate - Noah Claypol
6 Oliver, being goaded by the taunts of Noah, rouses
7 Oliver continues refractory
8 Oliver walks to London. He encounters on the road
9 Containing further particulars concerning the plea
10 Oliver becomes better acquainted with the characte
11 Treats of Mr. Fang the police magistrate
12 In which Oliver is taken better care of than he ev
13 Some new acquaintances are introduced
14 Comprising further particulars of Oliver's stay at
Disc: 2
Oliver Twist
1 Showing how very fond of Oliver Twist, the merry o
2 Relates what became of Oliver Twist, after he had
3 Oliver's destiny continuing unpropitious, brings a
4 In which a notable plan is discussed and determine
5 Wherein Oliver is delivered over to Mr. William Si
6 The Expedition
7 The Burglary
8 Which contains the substance of a pleasant convers
9 Treats on a very poor subject. But is a short one,
10 Wherein this history reverts to Mr. Fagin and comp
11 In which a mysterious character appears upon the s
12 Atones for the unpoliteness of a former chapter; w
13 Looks after Oliver, and proceeds with his adventur
14 Has an introductory account of the inmates of the
15 Relates what Oliver's new visitors thought of him
Disc: 3
Oliver Twist
1 Of the happy life Oliver began to lead with his ki
2 Wherein the happiness of Oliver and his friends, e
3 Contains some introductory particulars relative to
4 Containing the unsatisfactory result of Oliver's a
5 In which the reader may perceive a contrast, not u
6 Containing an account of what passed between Mr. a
7 In troduces some respectalbe characters with whom
8 A strange interview
9 Containing fresh discoveries, and showing that sup
10 An old acquaintance of Oliver's, exhibiting decide
11 Wherein is shown how the Artful Dodger got into tr
Disc: 4
Oliver Twist
1 The time arrives for Nancy to redeem her pledge to
2 Noah Claypole is employed by Fagin on a secret mis
3 The appointment kept
4 Fatal consequnces
5 The flight of Sikes
6 Monks and Mr. Brownlow at length meet
7 "And now you do see me," said Monks, rising boldly
8 The pursuit and escape
9 Affording an explanation of more mysteries than on
10 Mr. Brownlow merely nodded to Mr Grimwig...
11 Fagin's last night alive
12 And last
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like DICKENS: Oliver Twist (Anton Lesser/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos Audio Books: NA425912), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

A Christmas Celebration (Anton Lesser/ David Timson/ John Moffatt/ Liza Ross/ Nicolas Soames/ Peter Jeffrey/ Simon Harris/ Susan Engel) (Naxos Audio Books: NAX33012)
AUSTEN: Lady Susan
DICKENS: Great Expectations
Short Stories: Classic American Short Stories (Nicolas Soames/ William Roberts) (Naxos Audio Books: NA221212)
KIPLING: Kim (Madhav Sharma/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos Audio Books: NA2018.12) NA201812 14/11/2000 £10.99
Item is discontinued.
WILDE: The Picture of Dorian Gray NA307412 23/10/2000 £13.99
Item is discontinued.
DOSTOYEVSKY: Crime and Punishment (Michael Sheen/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos Audio Books: NA300912) NA300912 18/08/2000 £13.99
Out of stock
PROUST: A Swann's Way (Neville Jason/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos Audio Books: NA305312) NA305312 08/06/2000 £13.99
Item is discontinued.
Jane Austen: Sense and Sensibility NA309312 31/01/2000 £13.99
Item is discontinued.
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items