Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed

Blow: Venus And Adonis

Buy + Add To Wish List + £13.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
During recent years three Cpo productions in the Boston Early Music Festival series have received Grammy nominations in the category of the Best Opera Production and two have received Gramophone Award nominations in the Baroque Vocal category. Following Charpentier's Acteon (cpo 777 613-2) late last year, The Boston Early Music Festival Chamber Ensemble and outstanding young soloists now lend new life to John Blow's Venus and Adonis in a top-quality performance under the leadership of the lutenists Paul O'Dette and Stephen Stubbs. The striking parallels between it and Purcell's Dido and Aeneas suggest that the two works were composed at about the same time and are interrelated in some way. While Dido and Aeneas stands firmly in the epic tradition, Venus and Adonis is a model example of the pastoral genre.
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Blow: Venus And Adonis, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Desprez: De Profundis Motets
Desprez: Missa Ave Maris Stella
Various: Legends Of Piano Vol.1
Charpentier: Baroque Operas
THESEE, TRAGEDIE EN MUSIQUE 777240-2 01/01/2007 £46.99
Few in stock Buy +
Blow: Anthems CDD22055 04/01/2006 £13.99
The Very Best of Vivaldi 8552101-02 09/01/2005 £12.99
Out of stock
SCHUTZ - 15 SECULAR VOCAL WORKS 999518-2 04/01/2001 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
HASSLER - MOTETS ORGAN WORKS 999723-2 01/01/2001 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
SCHUTZ: Kleine geistliche Konzerte 999675-2 04/01/2000 £46.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items