Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed

BERLIOZ: La Damnation de Faust

Buy + Add To Wish List + £12.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
When Hector Berlioz was sent by his father to study medicine in Paris, he instead entered the Conservatoire to study composition. Goethe's 'Faust', in a French translation by G?®rard de Nerval, formed the basis of La Damnation de Faust, which Berlioz termed an 'op?®ra de concert'.

The plot centres on Faust's bargain with M?®phistoph?®l?¿s, the seduction of Marguerite, her imprisonment for matricide and her salvation, while Faust himself is dragged down to Hell, in damnation. These events are vividly captured with all Berlioz's craft for dramatic orchestral writing. The opera includes the popular 'R?ík??czy March' and two frequently-performed dance movements: 'Minuet of the Will-o'-the-Wisps' and 'Dance of the Sylphs'.

The Orchestre National de Lille and Jean-Claude Casadesus once again perform Berlioz, following their highly successful release of Les nuits d'?®t?® (8.557274), 'The Gramophone' describing their interpretation as "sensitive to the subtle melodic lines and the rich orchestration", whilst they played "brightly and responsively for Casadesus.""
Disc: 1
La damnation de Faust (The Damnation of Faust), Op
1 Part I Scene 1: Le vieil hiver a fait place (Faust
2 Part I Scene 2: Les bergers laissent leur troupeau
3 Part I Scene 3: Mais d’un eclat guerrier (Faust)
4 Part I Scene 3: Hungarian March, "Rakoczy March"
5 Part II Scene 4: Sans regrets j’ai quitte les rian
6 Part II Scene 4: Easter Hymn: Christ vient de ress
7 Part II Scene 4: Helas! Doux chants du ciel (Faust
8 Part II Scene 5: O pure emotion! (Mephistopheles,
9 Part II Scene 6: A boire encor! (Chorus, Mephistop
10 Part II Scene 6: Oh! Qu’il fait bon! (Chorus, Bran
11 Part II Scene 6: Certain rat, dans une cuisine, "B
12 Part II Scene 6: Amen, amen, amen!, "Fugue on Bran
13 Part II Scene 6: Vrai dieu! Messieurs (Mephistophe
14 Part II Scene 6: Une puce gentille, "Mephistophele
15 Part II Scene 6: Assez! Fuyons ces lieux (Faust)
16 Part II Scene 7: Voici des roses (Mephistopheles)
17 Part II Scene 7: Dors! Dors! Heureux Faust!, "Faus
18 Part II Scene 7: Dance of the Sylphs
19 Part II Scene 7: Margarita! Qu’ai-je vu? (Faust, M
20 Part II Scene 8: Finale: Villes entourees (Chorus
Disc: 2
La damnation de Faust (The Damnation of Faust), Op
1 Part III Scene 9: Drums and Trumpets Play the Retr
2 Part III Scene 9: Merci, doux crepuscule!, "Faust’
3 Part III Scene 10: Je l’entends! (Mephistopheles)
4 Part III Scene 11: Que l’air est etouffant! (Margu
5 Part III Scene 11: Autrefois un roi de Thule, "The
6 Part III Scene 12: Evocation: Esprits des flammes
7 Part III Scene 12: Minuet of the Wills-o’-the-Wisp
8 Part III Scene 12: Maintenant, Chantons a cette be
9 Part III Scene 12: Devant la maison, "Serenade of
10 Part III Scene 13: Duet: Grand Dieu! Que vois-je!
11 Part III Scene 14: Trio and Chorus: Allons! Il est
12 Part III Scene 14: Hola, mere Oppenheim (Chorus of
13 Part IV Scene 15: Romance: D’amour l’ardente flamm
14 Part IV Scene 15: Au son des trompettes (Chorus of
15 Part IV Scene 16: Nature immense, impenetrable, "I
16 Part IV Scene 17: Recitative and Chase: A la voute
17 Part IV Scene 18: Dans mon coeur retentit sa voix,
18 Part IV Scene 19: Pandemonium: Irimiru Karabrao! (
19 Part IV Scene 19: Alors, l’Enfer se tut, "Epilogue
20 Part IV Scene 20: Laus! Laus! Hosanna! (Chorus)
21 Part IV Scene 20: Remonte au ciel, "Margarita’s Gl
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BERLIOZ: La Damnation de Faust, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

MILHAUD: La Creation du monde / Le Boeuf sur le toit / Suite provencale
CANTELOUBE: Chants d'Auvergne
BERLIOZ: Nuits d'ete
BERLIOZ: Cantatas 8555810 06/01/2003 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
MASSENET: Werther 8660072-73 10/01/2002 £12.99
Out of stock
BERLIOZ: L' Enfance du Christ 8553650-51 12/01/2000 £12.99
POULENC: Organ Concerto / Concert Champetre 8554241 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
DEBUSSY: Pelleas et Melisande 8660047-49 12/01/1999 £14.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items