Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed


Add To Wish List + £7.99 - Out of stock

Way ahead of his time, misunderstood, and a rebel. It is difficult to believe, as we hail Beethoven's achievements, that the great German composer had only been dead three years when Berlioz wrote the erotic Symphonie Fantastique. It was not progress, it was a quantum leap forward for music.

Yet he was often shunned, the size and scope of such operas as The Trojans totally alien to those who were still trying to come to terms with the comparative conservatism of Beethoven's Fidelio. Just imagine Brahms was not yet born!

This disc is the ideal way to appreciate just how great and significant was his music. From the boisterous Roman Carnival Overture, to the chilling March to the Scaffold, here is the very best of Berlioz.

It is presented in outstanding performances, many from the partial cycle of Berlioz made for Naxos by the virtuoso orchestra from San Diego. And it even contains a novelty to titillate those who think they know a lot about Berlioz, with the Rêverie et Caprice, a work of stunning beauty for violin and orchestra.

Disc: 1
La Damnation de Faust: Marche hongroise (Rakoczy M
1 Le Carnaval romain: Overture, Op. 9
2 Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14: A Ball
3 Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14: March to the Scaffo
4 Serenade of a Mountaineer in the Abruzzi to His Mi
5 Les Troyens: Royal Hunt and Storm
6 Reverie et Caprice, Op. 8
7 Romeo et Juliette: Scherzo, Queen Mab
8 Romeo et Juliette: Love Scene
9 La Damnation de Faust: Marche hongroise (Rakoczy M
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BERLIOZ, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Discover Music of the Romantic Era
BERLIOZ: Symphonie Fantastique
Cinema Classics 4
BERLIOZ: Overtures 8550999 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Great Waltzes 8553337 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Discover the Classics, Vol. 1 8550035-36 12/01/1999 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
BERLIOZ: Harold in Italy / Les Francs-Juges 8553034 12/01/1999 £7.99
BERLIOZ: Romeo et Juliette / Les Troyens a Carthage 8553195 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Cinema Classics, Vol. 4 8556624 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items