BAX: Orchestral Works, Vol. 9: The Truth About the Russian Dancers / From Dusk Till Dawn

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
The latest re-issue in the Bax Orchestral Works series is music he composed for theatre. Bax may seem an unlikely composer of ballet music, but these works demonstrate that he was in fact richly qualified, and the results are products of a composer who had a long-standing ambition to compose for the ballet. \Above all, this is almost unadulteratedly happy Bax, unshadowed, often gorgeously opulent; sometimes gorgeously stage-struck and vociferous. Bax, you get the distinct impression, was blissfully stage-struck and ballet-daft, and enjoyed every minute of his brief career in the theatre" wrote 'Gramophone' on the original release.

Bax was commissioned to write 'The Truth about the Russian Dancers', a J.M Barrie extravaganza from the 1920s (originally intended for the Ballet Russes), written for a production that was half-dance, half stage play and enjoyed great popularity at the time, but the complete orchestral score was not heard again until the premiere recording on Chandos. This is coupled with the shorter piece, 'From Dusk Till Dawn' which presents a clear Ravelian influence. Highlighting the Russian elements of Bax's style at their clearest, the two works are performed complete and prove to be "lively and fanciful pictorial music which makes for agreeable listening." (Dance and Dancers). Both scores give a flavour of a facet of British musical life in the early 1920s, and are most closely related to Bax's Tone Poems. They "savour the lyrical warmth and generous orchestral colours, which reflects Bax's self-description as 'a brazen Romantic'" (Dance and Dancers).

Both works are performed by Bryden Thomson conducting the London Philharmonic Orchestra, and available for the first time at Classics price."
Item number CHAN 10457 X
Barcode 095115145722
Release date 03/03/2008
Category 20th Century
Label Chandos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Composers Bax, Arnold
Conductors Thomson, Bryden
Orchestras London Philharmonic Orchestra
Disc: 1
From Dusk Till Dawn
1 Part I: Overture -
2 Part I: Entry of Karissima -
3 Part I: Karissima Plays Golf -
4 Part I: Karissima and Lady Vere -
5 Part I: The Walking Lesson -
6 Part I: Lord Vere Tells His Mother of His Love for
7 Part I: Karissima Appeals for Love -
8 Part I: Karissima Droops Pathetically -
9 Part I: Karissima's Dance of Joy -
10 Part I: The Wedding Ceremony -
11 Part I: Dance: corps de ballet -
12 Part I: The Wedding Service -
13 Part I: A Wild Night - The Maestro -
14 Part I: The Clock Strikes Twelve -
15 Part I: Lord Vere Pleads for a Child -
16 Part I: Karissima and Lord Vere Go Off in Gay Deli
17 Part II: Dance of Motherhood -
18 Part II: The Funeral of Karissima –
19 Part II: Child's Dance -
20 Part II: Karissima's Farewell -
21 Part II: Finale: Allegro vivace
22 Prelude: Summer Night at the Window -
23 The Wind Dances in the Garden -
24 Molto piu lento: Midnight Strikes -
25 The Awakening -
26 The Flower's Dance -
27 The Dancer and the Clown -
28 The Wind Dances Through the Room -
29 Piu lento: The Clock Strikes One -
30 The Flowers Dance Again -
31 Piu lento: The Clock Strikes Two –
32 The Dancer Falls Weeping Into the Clown's Arms -
33 The Clown Thrusts Her Aside and Scolds her -
34 They Quarrel -
35 The Wind -
36 The Dancer Humbly Draws the Clown's Attention to t
37 The Dancer Turns Back to the Clown –
38 Dawn -
39 The Clock Strikes Three -
40 Everything is Still, a Sad Silence Reigns -
41 The Wind Blows the Dancer Into the Clown's Stiff A
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BAX: Orchestral Works, Vol. 9: The Truth About the Russian Dancers / From Dusk Till Dawn, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

ORCHESTRAL WORKS VOL5 CHAN 10158 X 12/01/2005 £6.99
ORCHESTRAL WORKS VOL6 CHAN 10159 X 12/01/2005 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
ORCHESTRAL WORKS VOL7 CHAN 10209(2) X 12/01/2005 £9.99
BAX: Harp Quintet / Elegiac Trio / Fantasy Sonata 8554507 06/01/2000 £11.99
BAX: Symphony No. 3 / The Happy Forest 8553608 12/01/1999 £11.99
BAX: Symphony No. 2 / November Woods 8554093 12/01/1999 £11.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items