Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed


Add To Wish List + £7.99 - Out of stock

Almost 79 minutes of the essential Bach in some of the best performances on disc. From the simple joy of Dame Myra Hess's Jesu Joy, to the pulsating Toccata in Wolfgang Rübsam's thought provoking reading, the great instrumental and orchestral music is all heard on this superbly compiled disc.

The juxtaposition of music also makes the issue one to enjoy as an introduction to Bach, and at the same time shows how adaptable his music has become to transcriptions, the solo violin sonata here played on the guitar.

Which Compact Disc wrote \it is good to see the excellent organist, Wolfgang Rübsam, back on record", when we issued the Toccata and Fugue, while Penguin Guide described the Brandenburg Concerto as "very well played", and of Chen Pi-Hsien's account of the Goldberg Variations the Penguin Guide says "an artist of refined musical intelligence and taste". We could go one throwing accolades at you, but you already know that if its on Naxos it has to be good.

Disc: 1
Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565
1 Allegro Assai
2 Sinfonia
3 Jesu Joy Of Man's Desiring, BWV 147
4 Allegro
5 Adagio
6 Aria
7 Air
8 Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
9 Largo
10 Badinerie
11 Adagio
12 Largo
13 Adagio
14 Rejouissance
15 Allegro assai
16 Largo ma non tanto
17 Wachet auf, Cantata BWV 140, No. 1
18 Toccata
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BACH, J.S., please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

The Very Best of Bach
Night Music 16
Intermezzo: Classics for Relaxing and Dreaming 8556616 06/01/2000 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Adagio 8552242 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
VIVALDI 8556655 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Largo 8550950 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
BACH, J.S.: Romantic Bach 8552212 12/01/1999 £7.99
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items