Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

BACH, C.P.E. / MARCELLO, A.: Oboe Concertos (Ferenc Erkel Chamber Orchestra/ Ibolya Toth/ Jozsef Kiss) (Naxos: 8.550556)

Add To Wish List + £6.99 - Out of stock

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714 - 1788)

Oboe Concerto in B Flat Major, Wq 164

Oboe Concerto in E Flat Major, Wq 165

Oboe Sonata in A Minor, Wq 132

Alessandro Marcello (1684 - 1750)

Oboe Concerto in D Minor

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach was born in 1714 in Weimar, the second son by hisfirst wife of Johann Sebastian Bach, then newly appointed Konzertmeister to theGrand Duke Wilhelm Ernst. He attended the Latin School in Cothen, where hisfather became Court Kapellmeister in 1717, and in 1723 moved with the family toLeipzig, where he became a pupil at the Thomasschule, on the staff of which hisfather had become Cantor. In 1731 he matriculated as a law student at theUniversity of Leipzig, embarking on a course of study that had been denied hisfather. He continued these studies at the University of Frankfurt an der Oderand in 1738, rejecting the chance of accompanying a young gentleman on a tourabroad, he entered the service of the Crown Prince of Prussia at Ruppin asharpsichordist, moving with the court to Berlin in 1740, on the accession to thethrone of the Prince, better known subsequently as Frederick the Great.

In Berlin and at Potsdam Bach, confirmed as Court Harpsichordist, had theunenviable task of accompanying evening concerts at which the King, an ableenough amateur flautist, was a frequent performer. His colleagues, generally ofa more conservative tendency, included the distinguished flautist and theoristQuantz, the Benda and Graun brothers and other musicians of similar reputation,while men of letters at the court included Lessing. On his father's death in1750 Bach applied for his position in Leipzig, but was unsuccessful and it wasnot until 1768 that he was able to escape from a position that he foundincreasingly uncongenial, succeeding his godfather Telemann as Cantor at theJohanneum in Hamburg, a city that offered much wider opportunities than Leipzig.

Bach spent the last twenty years of his life in Hamburg. In Berlin he had won awider reputation with his Versuch ??ber die wahre Art das Clavier zu spielen

(Essay on the True Art of Clavier Playing) and was regarded as the leadingkeyboard-player of his day. In Hamburg he continued to enjoy his establishedposition as a man of wide general education, able to mix on equal terms with theleading writers of his generation and no mere working musician. He died in 1788,his death mourned by a generation that thought of him as more important than hisfather, dubbed "the old periwig" by his sons.

As a composer Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach was prolific, writing a considerablequantity of music for the harpsichord. His music exemplifies the theoriesexpounded in his Versuch, with a tendency to use dramatic and rhetoricaldevices, a fine command of melody and a relatively sparing use of thecontrapuntal elements that had by now come to seem merely academic. In musicalterms he is associated with Lessing's theories of sentiment, Empfindsamkeit, thecomplement of Enlightenment rationalism.

The two concertos for oboe and strings, in B fiat and E fiat respectively,were arranged in 1765 from two harpsichord concertos written in the same year,while the A minor Sonata, written in 1747, was originally designed forunaccompanied flute. It was later published in the periodical MusikalischesMancherley in Berlin in 1762-63.

Alessandro Marcello was born in Venice in 1684 and is thus a nearcontemporary of Johann Sebastian Bach. He was, like his younger brotherBenedetto, a distinguished amateur, with a wide interest in the arts. In Venicehis house at1racted a circle of well known musicians and he himself was admit1edto the Arcadian Academy, a society of literati, taking the pastoral pseudonymEterio Stinfalco. The D minor Oboe Concerto, at one time attributed, in alower key, to Benedetto Marcello, was published in a collection in 1717 and wastranscribed by Bach for solo harpsichord. The ornaments from this transcriptionare used in the present performance of a work characteristic of the age ofVivaldi.

Joszef Kiss, oboe

Jozsef Kiss was born in Satoraljaujhely in 1961 and studied in Budapest,before joining the Budapest Symphony Orchestra in 1982. He remains a principaloboist in the orchestra and assistant professor of oboe at the Ferenc LisztAcademy of Music. In 1984 he won the bronze medal at the Toulon InternationalOboe Competition and four years later the wind-players' prize of the HungarianRadio.

Ferenc Erkel Chamber Orchestra

The Ferenc Erkel Chamber Orchestra, named after the distinguished 19thcentury Hungarian composer, was formed in 1985 by fourteen students of the BelaBartok Conservatory in Budapest. The artistic director of the orchestra, whichplays without a conductor, is the violinist Lili Aldor, a member of the FerencLiszt Chamber Orchestra. The orchestra has a repertoire that ranges from theBaroque to the twentieth century and has won praise in Hungary and abroad forthe youthful energy and brilliance of its performance.

Item number 8550556
Barcode 4891030505568
Release date 01/01/2000
Media type
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BACH, C.P.E. / MARCELLO, A.: Oboe Concertos (Ferenc Erkel Chamber Orchestra/ Ibolya Toth/ Jozsef Kiss) (Naxos: 8.550556), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Hanson: Symphony No.3/ Merry Mount Suit (NAXOS 8.559702)
R-Korsakov: Orchestral Suites (Suites: Le Coq D'Or/ Snow Maide) (NAXOS 8.572787)
Bowen: Viola Sonatas 1 / 2 (Phantasy) (NAXOS 8.572580) 8572580 28/11/2011 £6.99
Piazzolla: Tango Distinto (Music For Solo Trombone And Instrumental Ensemble) (NAXOS 8.572596) 8572596 28/11/2011 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Cervantes: Danzas Cubanas (NAXOS 8.572456) 8572456 28/11/2011 £6.99
Rossini: Carlo Giulini (Il Barbiere Di Siviglia) (Ica Classics: ICAC 5046) ICAC 5046 31/10/2011 £20.99
Few in stock Buy +
SINFONIA DEL MARE SCD1015 01/07/2003 £13.99
Few in stock Buy +
MOUNTAIN KING. THE SCD1106 01/07/2003 £13.99
Item is discontinued.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items