Arrau/Schumann PC, Carnaval; R. Strauss Burleske

Buy + Add To Wish List + £6.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
This third Naxos volume of Claudio Arrau's recordings from the 1930s and 1940s includes two performances set down in an incredibly short period of time. Richard Strauss's 'Burleske' was recorded at a morning session on 13th April 1946 at Orchestra Hall in Chicago, followed immediately by Weber's 'Konzertst??ck'. The 1944 recording of Schumann's Piano Concerto was recorded in one session of one hour and 45 minutes, with the first side of the second movement and both sides of the last movement done in single takes. The 1939 recording of Schumann's Carnaval is one of Arrau's finest recordings. A contemporary reviewer stated that, \This magnificent recording shows convincingly that Carnaval is one of the masterpieces of piano literature and that Arrau is a great pianist... The recording itself is of the highest quality, better far than any record previously made by Arrau, and the performance - as I ought to have made clear by now - is of supreme artistic value and completely satisfying in every respect.""
Disc: 1
Carnaval, Op. 9
1 Burleske in D minor, TrV 145
2 I. Allegro affettuoso
3 II. Intermezzo: Andantino
4 III. Allegro vivace
5 I. Preambule
6 II. Pierrot
7 III. Arlequin
8 IV. Valse noble
9 V. Eusebius
10 VI. Florestan
11 VII. Coquette
12 VIII. Replique - Sphinxes
13 IX. Papillons
14 X. A.S.C.H. - S.C.H.A. (Lettres dansantes)
15 XI. Chiarina
16 XII. Chopin
17 XIII. Estrella
18 XIV. Reconnaissance
19 XV. Pantalon et Colombine
20 XVI. Valse allemande
21 Intermezzo: Paganini
22 XVII. Aveu
23 XVIII. Promenade
24 XIX. Pause
25 XX. Marche des Davidsbundler contre les Philistins
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Arrau/Schumann PC, Carnaval; R. Strauss Burleske, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3 / WEBER: Konzertstuck / Piano Sonata No. 1
GIGLI, Beniamino: Berlin, Milan and London Recordings
SCHUMANN: Piano Quintet, Op. 44 / BRAHMS: Piano Quartet No. 2
Great Pianists
LISZT: Piano Sonata in B Minor 8110606 04/01/2003 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
WAGNER, R.: Overtures / STRAUSS: Don Juan 8110855 01/01/2003 £6.99
Tauber, Richard: Lieder 8110739 11/01/2002 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 2 / SCHUMANN: Kinderszenen 8110665 01/01/2001 £6.99
Out of stock
STRAUSS, R.: Heldenleben 8110161 01/01/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
CHOPIN / SCHUMANN: Piano Concertos 8110612 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items