Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

ARNOLD, M.: Chamber Music for Winds

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Those who think of Malcolm Arnold as the composer of sparkling orchestral music and highly successful film scores will be delighted and perhaps surprised at the feast of smaller-scale treasures on this recording, several of them recorded here for the first time. They span virtually his entire composing life from the early Constant Lambert-inspired 'Overture for Wind Octet' to the enigmatic 'Duo (Divertimento) for Two Clarinets' written after serious mental illness and a number of years of compositional silence. This release follows March's issue of more Arnold Chamber music, the first and second String Quartets, released after the composer's death late last year at the age of 85. All nine symphonies are also already available separately on Naxos.
Item number 8570294
Barcode 747313029471
Release date 30/04/2007
Category Chamber Music
Label Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Composers Arnold, Malcolm
Orchestras East Winds
Producers Weir, Simon
Disc: 1
3 Shanties, Op. 4
1 I. Allegro
2 II. Presto
3 III. Alla Marcia
4 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": I. A
5 Dream City (arr. P. Harris for wind quintet)
6 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": II.
7 Hobson's Choice: Overture (arr. U. Radok for wind
8 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": III.
9 Grand Fantasia
10 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": IV.
11 Overture (arr. U. Radok for wind octet)
12 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": V. V
13 I. Prelude
14 II. Tango (Elaine)
15 III. Dance (censored)
16 IV. Ballad
17 V. Valse (Ugo)
18 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": VI.
19 You Know What Sailors Are: Scherzetto (arr. for cl
20 Fantasy for clarinet, Op. 87
21 Fantasy for flute and clarinet
22 I. Allegro energico
23 II. Languido
24 III. Vivace
25 IV. Andantino
26 V. Maestoso
27 VI. Piacevole
28 I. Allegro con brio
29 II. Allegretto semplice
30 III. Allegro vivace
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like ARNOLD, M.: Chamber Music for Winds, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Sousa: Various Wind Band Music Vol.10
Moravec: Useful Knowledge
Kreisler/ Zimbalist/ Ysaye: String Quartets
Richter: Sonata Da Camera For Flute, Harsichord And Cello 8572030 28/11/2011 £6.99
Piazzolla: Tango Distinto 8572596 28/11/2011 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Hill: String Quartets Vol.4 8572844 28/11/2011 £6.99
Meyer: String Quartets Nos. 9/ 11/ 12 8572656 28/11/2011 £6.99
Philips: Cantiones Sacrae Quinis Et Oct 8572832 28/11/2011 £6.99
ARNOLD: String Quartets Nos. 1 and 2 / Phantasy for String Quartet "Vita Abundans" 8557762 26/02/2007 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items