ARNOLD, M.: Chamber Music for Winds

Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Those who think of Malcolm Arnold as the composer of sparkling orchestral music and highly successful film scores will be delighted and perhaps surprised at the feast of smaller-scale treasures on this recording, several of them recorded here for the first time. They span virtually his entire composing life from the early Constant Lambert-inspired 'Overture for Wind Octet' to the enigmatic 'Duo (Divertimento) for Two Clarinets' written after serious mental illness and a number of years of compositional silence. This release follows March's issue of more Arnold Chamber music, the first and second String Quartets, released after the composer's death late last year at the age of 85. All nine symphonies are also already available separately on Naxos.
Item number 8570294
Barcode 747313029471
Release date 04/01/2007
Category 20th Century
Label Naxos Classics
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Composers Arnold, Malcolm
Arnold, Malcolm
Orchestras Winds, East
Winds, East
Producers Weir, Simon
Weir, Simon
Disc: 1
3 Shanties, Op. 4
1 I. Allegro
2 II. Presto
3 III. Alla Marcia
4 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": I. A
5 Dream City (arr. P. Harris for wind quintet)
6 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": II.
7 Hobson's Choice: Overture (arr. U. Radok for wind
8 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": III.
9 Grand Fantasia
10 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": IV.
11 Overture (arr. U. Radok for wind octet)
12 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": V. V
13 I. Prelude
14 II. Tango (Elaine)
15 III. Dance (censored)
16 IV. Ballad
17 V. Valse (Ugo)
18 Duo for 2 clarinets, Op. 135, "Divertimento": VI.
19 You Know What Sailors Are: Scherzetto (arr. for cl
20 Fantasy for clarinet, Op. 87
21 Fantasy for flute and clarinet
22 I. Allegro energico
23 II. Languido
24 III. Vivace
25 IV. Andantino
26 V. Maestoso
27 VI. Piacevole
28 I. Allegro con brio
29 II. Allegretto semplice
30 III. Allegro vivace
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like ARNOLD, M.: Chamber Music for Winds, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

ARNOLD: String Quartets Nos. 1 and 2 / Phantasy for String Quartet "Vita Abundans"
ARNOLD: Symphonies Nos. 7 and 8 8552001 08/01/2001 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
ARNOLD: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 6 8552000 05/01/2001 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
ARNOLD: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 8553406 01/01/2000 £11.99
Out of stock
ARNOLD: Dances 8553526 01/01/2000 £11.99
ARNOLD: Symphony No. 9 8553540 01/01/2000 £11.99
ARNOLD: Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4 8553739 01/01/2000 £11.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items