Buy + Add To Wish List + £11.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
From the 1920s onwards Segovia not only enriched the range of the guitar repertoire by transcribing and performing works by great composers of the past, but also persuaded his contemporaries to write new pieces. Volume 5 of Segovia's 1950s American recordings includes music by composers of various nationalities, (Italian, Spanish, Polish, Argentinian, Venezuelan, and Swiss), demonstrating the international appeal of the guitar. The diversity of musical styles featured is considerable, ranging from the folkloric appeal of South America to the more esoteric inwardness of European composers. Of particular interest is Segovia's performance with a string quartet of the great Italian composer, Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco's 'Capriccio diabolico', one of the most successful examples of the synthesis of plucked and bowed sonorities.
Disc: 1
Preludio, "Postlude"
1 Capriccio diabolico, Op. 85, "Homage to Paganini"
2 Greeting Cards, Op. 170: No. 5. Tonadilla on the n
3 I. Allegro, vivo e schietto
4 II. Andante mesto
5 III. Scherzo: Allegro con spirito, alla marcia
6 IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco
7 Sardana chigiana
8 I. Preludio
9 II. Sarabande
10 III. Scherzino
11 IV. Barcarole
12 V. Danza Pomposa
13 Zarabanda lejana
14 Nortena
15 4 Valses Venezolanos: No. 3. Natalia, "Vals crioll
16 Alba
17 Preludio, "Postlude"
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like ANDRES SEGOVIA: 50s RECORDINGS, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

DVORAK: Sonatina in G major, Op. 100 / ORR: A Carmen Fantasy / DANZI: Don Giovanni Variations
SEGOVIA, Andres: The 1946 New York and the 1949 London Recordings
Andres Segovia #1
Guitar Recital: Pablo Sainz Villegas 8557596 07/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
CASALS, Pablo: Encores and Transcriptions, Vol. 2 8110976 01/01/2004 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Guitar Recital: Dimitri Illarionov 8557293 09/01/2003 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
Spanish Guitar 8557122-23 07/01/2002 £18.99
Few in stock Buy +
Guitar Recital: Martha Masters 8555720 07/01/2001 £11.99
Few in stock Buy +
RODRIGO / VILLA-LOBOS / CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO: Guitar Concertos 8550729 01/01/2000 £11.99
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items