Cookie Control

We use cookies to improve the use of our website, our products and services, and confirm your login authorization or initial creation of account. By clicking "Ok" or by continuing to use our website, you agree to cookies being set on your device as explained in our Privacy Policy. You may disable the use of cookies if you do not wish to accept them, however, this may limit the website’s overall functionality.
Ok – I'm happy to proceed

ALFVEN: Symphony No. 4, Op. 39 / Festival Overture, Op. 52

Buy + Add To Wish List + £7.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Hugo Alfven (1872-1960)

Symphony No. 4, 'From the Outermost Skerries' Festival Overture

Although the music of Hugo Alfven has never been widely heard internationally, in his native Sweden he ranks, alongside Wilhelm Stenhammar, as the most significant composer after Berwald. Born in Stockholm on 1st May 1872, he studied at the conservatory there, followed by two years spent as a violinist in the opera orchestra, after which he decided to devote himself to composition. Unlike his predecessors, he was ambitious: two substantial symphonies [Naxos 8.553962 and 8.555072] appeared in 1897 and 1898 respectively, the Stockholm premi?¿re of the latter in 1900 confirming his national reputation. Over the following quarter century, a number of major works appeared: they include the Third [Naxos 8.553729] and Fourth Symphonies, the oratorio The Lord's Prayer, the Revelation Cantata, the balletpantomime The Mountain King, and three Swedish Rhapsodies, of which the first, Midsummer Vigil [Naxos 8.553115] has remained his most popular piece. After 1923 his output focused increasingly on choral music, reflecting his commitments as conductor of the Siljan Choir and Orpheus Singers, with whom he toured frequently. His Fifth Symphony occupied him throughout the 1940s and 1950s, while the ballet The Prodigal Son found the 85-year-old composer making inventive use of traditional and folk-music. Alfven died, quite the elder statesman of Swedish music, in Falun on 8th May 1960. A gifted watercolourist and vividly illustrative author, Alfven was well equipped by ability as well as temperament to depict the unique island landscape of the Stockholm archipelago, in the vicinity of which he spent much of his formative years. The 1904 tone poem A Legend of the Skerries [Naxos 8.553729] evokes a soundworld far removed from the drama of his first two symphonies, and it was hardly surprising when, four years later, he decided to give his experiences of the archipelago symphonic expression. Work on the Fourth Symphony progressed fitfully and it was not until 1918, following several sailing expeditions and the taking of a sabbatical from his post as Director of Music at Uppsala University, that he was able to proceed apace. The work was completed by the spring of 1919 and received its premi?¿re at a gala concert at the Stockholm Musical Academy on 4th November that year, followed by a public airing on 23rd January 1920. Despite reservations expressed by several prominent critics, general acclaim was forthcoming both then and at subsequent performances in Paris, Frankfurt, Vienna and Berlin. One of the main reservations concerned the use of two voices, soprano and tenor, as part of the orchestral apparatus, though Alfven was doubtless aware of a precedent in Nielsen's Third Symphony of 1911 [Naxos 8.550825] in this respect. The other criticism concerned the erotic nature of its programme, one which Alfven refuted to the extent of dedicating the work to his then teenage daughter Margita. He nevertheless stated that \My symphony tells the tale of two young souls. The action takes place in the skerries, where sea rages among the rocks on gloomy, stormy nights, by moonlight and in sunshine ... the moods of nature are no less than symbols for the human heart". Playing continuously, the work falls into four sections, a first movement with slow introduction, depicting desire on the part of a young man, an intermezzo-like scherzo, evoking the musing of a young girl, a slow movement depicting the happiness of love, and a finale whose storm-swept mood is an analogy for the demise of that happiness and in which the solo voices are notable by their absence. The mysterious opening sets the scene, rippling piano figuration and deft percussion building to a brief climax before dissolving into the sound of solo violin against softly held upper strings. Its theme migrates to lower strings, gaining in emotional intensity with music of Straussian opulence. Ardour subsides as the tenor enters for the first time, intoning an expressive melody. A faster tempo sees the brief first climax recalled, followed by a resumption of the tenor vocalise.

Descending woodwind arabesques presage the scherzosection, featuring darting figures on solo wind, afterwhich, underpinned by the piano, the soprano makes awistful first appearance. The darting music resumes inmore elaborate scoring, at length vanishing into theether. The 'slow movement' now begins searchingly inlower strings, moving to an affirmative climax, beforesubsiding into gentle rhapsody. The lush scoringembodies elements of tenor and soprano vocalise, bothvoices re-entering, intertwined, to enhance the mood ofecstatic fulfilment. A more capricious quality bringsabout the movement's culmination, shot through with afatalistic certainty that is held at bay while the solovoices recede beyond earshot. The music darkensappreciably, a brief but baleful outburst on brassushering in the final section in a mood of storm andstress. Woodwind add their malevolent touch; then,after magical textures for piano, harp and strings, thesolo cor anglais intones a melody that suggestsresignation in the face of the inevitable. Ideas heardearlier are recalled, gathering momentum for a final,tragic climax that alludes to the beginning of the sectionand, in turn, to that of the whole work. It remains for theclosing bars to return the music to the watery depths outof which it arose.

A very different side to the composer is to be heardin the Festival Overture of 1944, first heard that year inStockholm. This is Alfven the respected public figure,writing music in a direct, uncomplicated idiom for thewidest possible audience. The piece opens with avaunting theme on strings and brass, woodwind calmingthe mood before a lively, dance-like idea is introducedby solo bassoon. Taken up by the remainder of theorchestra, it is presently combined with the openingmusic, and a brief but lively development of both ideasensues. The calmer music returns, bringing about a fullreprise of the opening section: this time, however, thedance theme leads into a roof-raising coda, seeing theoverture through to a triumphal close.

Richard Whitehouse"
Disc: 1
Festival Overture, Op. 52
1 I. Moderato - Allegretto, ma non troppo
2 II. Allegro - Moderato - Allegro
3 III. Lento - Maestoso - Molto appassionato
4 IV. Allegro agitato
5 Festival Overture, Op. 52
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like ALFVEN: Symphony No. 4, Op. 39 / Festival Overture, Op. 52, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

ALFVEN: Synnove Solbakken / En Bygdesaga / Elegie
ALFVEN: Symphony No. 5
ALFVEN: Symphony No. 2 / The Prodigal Son
Scandinavian Festival 8550090 12/01/2000 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Swedish Orchestral Favourites, Vol. 1 8553115 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
In Memoriam: Music for Solemn Occasions 8553435 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
SIBELIUS: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 3 8554102 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
ALFVEN: Symphony No. 3 / Legend of the Skerries 8553729 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
ALFVEN: Symphony No. 1 / Uppsala Rhapsody / Mountain King 8553962 12/01/1999 £7.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items