Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed


Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
The 'A-Z of Conductors' surveys the history of recording during the twentieth century, from the earliest days of capturing orchestral music on disc to the present era of the iPod, through the biographies of 310 of the most significant conductors whose art is preserved on record. In addition, the entry for each conductor contains a list of selected recordings and a career outline. Four accompanying CDs present excerpts from recordings by forty-eight of the conductors featured. The 'A-Z of Conductors' will be of interest and value both to those new to orchestral music on record who wish to explore the huge resources of repertoire and performance available, as well as to seasoned collectors.
Item number 8558087-90
Barcode 0636943808726
Release date 29/10/2007
Label Naxos Educational
Media type CD
Number of units 4
Disc: 1
Lohengrin, Act III: Prelude
1 La boutique fantasque, P. 120: Can-can and Scene
2 The Hebrides, Op. 26,
3 A Village Romeo and Juliet: The Walk to the Paradi
4 La scala di seta (The Silken Ladder): Overture
5 Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61: IV. Allegro mol
6 Der Freischutz, J. 277: Overture
7 Imperial March, Op. 32
8 Don Giovanni, K. 527: Overture
9 La Mer: III. Dialogue du vent de la mer
10 Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183: IV. Allegro
11 Faust, Act V Scene 2: Ballet Music
12 Lohengrin, Act III: Prelude
Disc: 2
Symphony No. 2 in C minor, "Resurrection": IV. Ulr
1 Le carnaval romain (Roman Carnaval), Op. 9
2 Pelleas et Melisande (Pelleas and Melisande), Act
3 Hamlet - Fantasy Overture after Shakespeare, Op. 6
4 In the Steppes of Central Asia
5 Tristan und Isolde: Liebestod
6 Symphony No. 7 in E major, WAB 107: I. Allegro mod
7 Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98: IV. Allegro ene
8 Egmont, Op. 84: Overture
9 Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg, Act III: Prelude
10 Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67: I. Allegro con
11 Symphony No. 2 in C minor, "Resurrection": IV. Ulr
Disc: 3
Adagio in E major, K. 261
1 Die Walkure, Act III: Ride of the Valkyries
2 2 Elegiac Melodies, Op. 34: II. Varen (Last Spring
3 Die Fledermaus: Overture
4 Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail, K. 384: Overture
5 La damnation de Faust (The Damnation of Faust), Op
6 La Poeme de l'extase (The Poem of Ecstasy), Op. 54
7 Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: II. Un bal (The Bal
8 Francesca da Rimini, Op. 32 (beginning)
9 Fervaal, Op. 40: Prelude to Act I
10 Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67: IV. Allegro (co
11 Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, "Pathetique": I
12 Carmen, Act I: Prelude
13 Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21: IV. Adagio - Al
14 Messiah, Part II: Hallelujah
15 Adagio in E major, K. 261
Disc: 4
Tausend und eine Nacht (Thousand and One Nights),
1 Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97, "Rhenish":
2 Leichte Kavallerie (Light Cavalry): Overture
3 Eine Faust-Symphonie in 3 Charakterbildern, S108/R
4 Rienzi: Overture
5 Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551, "Jupiter": IV.
6 Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, "From the New W
7 Serenade in E flat major, Op. 6: II. Allegro ma no
8 Tragic Overture, Op. 81
9 Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor: IV. Adagietto
10 Tausend und eine Nacht (Thousand and One Nights),
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like A TO Z OF CONDUCTORS, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Opera Explained: WAGNER, R. - The Flying Dutchman
Opera Explained: MOZART - The Magic Flute
Opera Explained: PUCCINI - Madama Butterfly
Opera Explained: VERDI - La traviata
Opera Explained: PUCCINI - Tosca 8558047 01/05/2002 £6.99
Opera Explained: VERDI - Rigoletto 8558048 01/05/2002 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Art Music: Da Vinci - Music of His Time 8558057 01/04/2002 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Opera Explained: BIZET - Carmen 8558010 01/04/2002 £6.99
Opera Explained: PUCCINI - La Bohème 8558011 01/04/2002 £6.99
Opera Explained: VERDI - Aida 8558009 01/04/2001 £6.99
Image Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items