Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

WEBERN: Complete Songs with Piano (Alexander Volkov/ Svetlana Savenko/ Yuri Polubelov) (Naxos: 8.570219)

Buy + Add To Wish List + £6.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Anton Webern (1883-1945)

Complete Songs with Piano


Anton Friedrich Wilhelm von Webern was born in Vienna on 3 December 1883 in the family of a mining engineer. He received his first serious musical tuition, as a pianist and cellist, while at the Gymnasium at Klagenfurt, where he also tried to compose (his earliest pieces dating back to 1899). In 1902 Webern entered Vienna University where he studied musicology. Between 1904 and 1908 Webern studied composition with Arnold Schoenberg. Together with Alban Berg, he was among Schoenberg's first pupils, later becoming his close friend and associate. Webern's first composition to which he gave an opus number, Passacaglia for orchestra, was completed in 1908. His compositions, gradually revealing his departure from classical tonality, turned out to be more and more laconic, sometimes lasting less than one minute. Brevity and sheer concentration became hallmarks of Webern's style.

Webern left behind a large number of vocal compositions, constituting over half of his output. These compositions include choral works, pieces for voice and different ensembles of instruments and, last but not least, songs for voice and piano. Webern wrote his first songs when he was sixteen, and his last songs came out in the mid-1930s. In all probability no other genre in Webern's output outlines the composer's rapid evolution so completely and profoundly.

Webern viewed the song genre primarily as a world of melodies. The composer did not particularly subscribe to reciting poetry to musical accompaniment ( Sprechstimme, speech-song) invented by Schoenberg and accepted by many of his contemporaries. Even his atonal songs are based on a drawn-out melodic line. At the same time, the composer remained sensitive to poetic words, their meaning and phonation. In Webern's later songs the interconnection of text and music becomes more mediated - musical intonation seems to symbolize the word, rather than expressing the word directly.

The first three cycles written by Webern, before his studies with Schoenberg, reveal a beginner composer at work with classical models of vocal music. The young Webern was guided by major composers of the Lied such as Schumann, Hugo Wolf, Grieg and Richard Strauss. Traditional forms such as barcarolle ('Vorfrühling'; 'Sommerabend') and chorale ('Fromm'; 'Gebet') were employed. Webern also pursued more extended forms. For example, 'Nachtgebet der Braut' is an almost operatic monologue with its sumptuous passions in the vein of Liszt and Wagner, or the ballad-like piece, 'Heimgang in der Frühe'.

New features appear in Fünf Lieder, set to verses by Richard Dehmel, which are more intricate in their musical language, sometimes akin to poems for voice and piano. Then came the period of Stefan George, whose verses Webern turned to, probably under the influence of Schoenberg. The Vier Lieder, left without an opus number, are remarkable for their predominantly murky colours, harmonic rambles and sharp emotional outbursts. These four songs remained unknown until 1965, when they were fortuitously discovered and at long last brought out in the following year. The songs in Op. 3 and Op. 4, more laconic, still reflect some elements of Webern's expressive style. Classical simplicity and clarity set the tone in Vier Lieder Op. 12, particularly with the first song, which was based on folk material ('Der Tag ist vergangen').

The last two song cycles, Op. 23 and Op. 25, belong to the later period in Webern's work, which saw the composer's experimentation with dodecaphonic technique. Their filigree musical texture corresponds to the lyrical purity of Hildegard Jone's verses, combining personal feelings with religious symbols.

Svetlana Savenko


Complete song texts and translations may be accessed on-line at


Item number 8570219
Barcode 747313021970
Release date 26/02/2007
Category Vocal
Label Naxos Limited Edition
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Artists Svetlana Savenko
Yuri Polubelov
Composers Webern, Anton
Producers Alexander Volkov
Disc: 1
3 Poems
1 Vorfruhling
2 Nachtgebet der Braut
3 Fromm
8 Early Songs
4 Tief von Fern
5 Aufblick
6 Blumengruss
7 Bild der Liebe
8 Sommerabend
9 Heiter
10 Der Tod
11 Heimgang in der Fruhe
3 Songs
12 Gefunden
13 Gebet
14 Freunde
5 Songs
15 Ideale Landschaft
16 Am Ufer
17 Himmelfahrt
18 Nachtliche Scheu
19 Helle Nacht
4 Lieder
20 Erwachen aus dem tiefsten Traumesschosse
21 Kunfttag I
22 Trauer I
23 Das lockere Saatgefilde
5 Lieder aus Der siebente Ring, Op. 3
24 Dies ist ein Lied
25 Im Windesweben
26 An Bachesranft, Im Morgentaun
27 Im Morgentaun
28 Kahl reckt der Baum
5 Lieder, Op. 4
29 Eingang
30 Noch zwingt mich Treue
31 Ja Heil und Dank dir
32 So ich traurig bin
33 Ihr tratet zu dem Herde
4 Lieder, Op. 12
34 Der Tag ist vergangen
35 Die geheimnisvolle Flote
36 Schien mir's, als ich sah die Sonne
37 Gleich und Gleich
3 Gesange aus Viae inviae, Op. 23
38 Das dunkle Herz
39 Es Sturzt aus Hohen Frische
40 Herr Jesus mein
3 Lieder, Op. 25
41 Wie bin ich froh!
42 Des Herzens Purpurvogel
43 Sterne, ihr silbernen Bienen
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like WEBERN: Complete Songs with Piano (Alexander Volkov/ Svetlana Savenko/ Yuri Polubelov) (Naxos: 8.570219), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Haydn and the Earl of Abingdon (Cafe Mozart/ Rachel Elliot/ Rogers Covey-Crump/ Sophie Bevan) (Naxos: 8.570525)
Durón: Songs (Manuel Vilas Rodriguez/ Pablo Barreiro/ Raquel Andueza) (Naxos: 8.570458)
FLAGSTAD, Kirsten: Songs and Arias (Philadelphia Orchestra, Ormandy) (1937) (Edwin McArthur/ Eugene Ormandy/ Kirsten Flagstad/ Mark Obert-Thorn/ Philadelphia Orchestra) (Naxos Historical: 8.110725)
SCHIPA, Tito: The Complete Victor Recordings, Vol. 1 (1922-1925) (Amelita Galli-Curci/ Charles A. Prince/ Josef A. Pasternack/ Nathaniel Shilkret/ Rosario Bourdon/ Studio pianist/ Tito Schipa/ Victor Orchestra/ Ward Marston) (Naxos Historical: 8.110332)
GIGLI, Beniamino: Milan and London Recordings (1938-1940) (Beniamino Gigli/ Cloe Elmo/ Dino Olivieri/ Giuseppe Noto/ Lawrence Collingwood/ Luigi Ricci/ Maria Caniglia/ Mark Obert-Thorn/ Studio chamber orchestra/ Studio Orchestra/ Umberto Berrettoni) (Naxo 8110271 27/06/2005 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
GIGLI, Beniamino: Berlin, Milan and London Recordings (1936-1938) (Naxos Historical: 8.110270) 8110270 02/05/2005 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
GIGLI, Beniamino: Milan, London and Berlin Recordings (1933-1935) (Alois Melichar/ Beniamino Gigli/ Berlin State Opera Orchestra/ Carlo Sabajno/ Dino Olivieri/ Franco Ghione/ Iva Pacetti/ John Barbirolli/ John Barbirolli Orchestra/ Mark Obert-Thorn/ Milan 8110269 22/12/2004 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
GIGLI, Beniamino: London, New York and Milan Recordings (1931-1932) (Beniamino Gigli/ Carlo Sabajno/ Dusolina Giannini/ Eugene Goossens/ Eugene Goossens Orchestra/ John Barbirolli/ John Barbirolli Orchestra/ Mark Obert-Thorn/ Milan La Scala Orchestra/ Nat 8110268 22/10/2004 £6.99
SCHUMANN, Elisabeth: Schubert Lieder (1927-1945) (Elisabeth Schumann/ George Reeves/ Ward Marston) (Naxos Historical: 8.110731) 8110731 01/10/2002 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
CARUSO, Enrico: Complete Recordings, Vol. 8 (1913-1914) (Andres De Segurola/ Enrico Caruso/ Frieda Hempel/ Gaetano Scognamiglio/ Gaetano Scognamiglio/ Leon Rothier/ Maria Duchene/ New York Metropolitan Opera Chorus/ Titta Ruffo/ Victor Orchestra) (Naxos 8110726 01/02/2002 £6.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items