Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

The Art Of The Bass (Carlo Colo) (NAXOS 2.110612)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Described as"the great Verdian bass" (Le Figaro) and a"Mefistofele who stood out over all the others" (Der Neue Merker), Carlo Colombara brings some of the most famous bass roles to life in this wide-ranging programme. Emotions range from the pride of Escamillo in Bizet's Carmen, through the terrors of Verdi's Attila, to the tender recollections of Rachmaninov's Aleko. Mephistopheles strides powerfully through both Gounod and Boito's operas, and Rossini's comic wit contrasts with the darkness of Mussorgsky's Boris Godunov. In 1986 he won the prize for the best Italian singer in the G. B. Viotti Competition and the following year he won the As.Li.Co competition before making his debut at the Teatro dell'Opera in Rome in Ernani. His subsequent career has brought appearances in the most important theatres of the world, in Tokyo, London, Berlin, Vienna, Milan, New York, Zurich, Barcelona, where he now lives, Verona and elsewhere.
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The Art Of The Bass (Carlo Colo) (NAXOS 2.110612), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

MUSICAL JOURNEY (A) - FLORENCE: A Musical Tour of the City's Past and Present (NTSC) (Naxos DVD: 2.110513)
GIGLI, Beniamino: Berlin, Milan and London Recordings (1936-1938) (Naxos Historical: 8.110270)
MCCORMACK, John: The Acoustic Recordings (1910-1911) (Edna Thornton/ Emmy Destinn/ John McCormack/ Landon Ronald/ Mario Sammarco/ Nellie Melba/ New Symphony Orchestra/ Percy Pitt/ Studio Orchestra/ Victor Orchestra/ Ward Marston) (Naxos Historical: 8.1103
GIGLI, Beniamino: London, New York and Milan Recordings (1931-1932) (Beniamino Gigli/ Carlo Sabajno/ Dusolina Giannini/ Eugene Goossens/ Eugene Goossens Orchestra/ John Barbirolli/ John Barbirolli Orchestra/ Mark Obert-Thorn/ Milan La Scala Orchestra/ Nat
MUSICAL JOURNEY (A) - MADRID, LA MANCHA, TOLEDO (NTSC) (Maurice Ravel) (Naxos DVD: 2.110509) 2110509 01/09/2004 £9.99
MUSICAL JOURNEY (A) - SEVILLE AND GRANADA (NTSC) (Naxos DVD: 2.110510) 2110510 01/09/2004 £9.99
MUSICAL JOURNEY (A) - ROME: A Musical Tour of the City's Past and Present (NTSC) (Naxos DVD: 2.110504) 2110504 19/03/2004 £9.99
Few in stock Buy +
MUSICAL JOURNEY (A) - PARIS: A Musical Tour of Paris, Chantilly, Versailles and Chartres (NTSC) (Naxos DVD: 2.110506) 2110506 19/03/2004 £9.99
GIGLI, Beniamino: Milan, Camden and New York Recordings (1919-1922) (Beniamino Gigli/ Carlo Sabajno/ Emily Herrera/ Josef A. Pasternack/ Mark Obert-Thorn/ Nathaniel Shilkret/ Roger Tallroth/ Studio Orchestra) (Naxos Historical: 8.110263) 8110263 01/10/2003 £6.99
CHALIAPIN, Feodor: A Vocal Portrait (1907-1936) (Naxos Historical: 8.110748-49) 8110748-49 01/11/2002 £12.99
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items