Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

STRAVINSKY: The Firebird / Petrushka (Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft) (Naxos: 8.557500)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

The Firebird PetrushkaThe Firebird (1910)

For the first performance of Firebird, June 25th, 1910,the Ballets Russes programme of the The?ótre Nationalde l'Opera, Paris, published the following synopsis:

The Firebird, one of the most popular Russianfolktales, begins when Ivan Tsarevich, thecrown prince, sees a marvellous bird of flaminggold. He pursues but fails to catch it, and onlysucceeds in snatching one of its glitteringfeathers. The chase has taken him into thedomain of Kastchei the Immortal, demi-god ofevil, who attempts to capture him and, as he hasalready done with many valiant knights andprinces, turns him to stone. Kastchei'sdaughters and thirteen princesses intercede forIvan Tsarevich and try to save him. Finally theFirebird appears, breaks Kastchei's spell, andrescues everyone. Ivan Tsarevich and theknights, delivered from their fate, seize thegolden apples from Kastchei's garden."
Item number 8557500
Barcode 747313250028
Release date 18/02/2005
Category Ballet | Classical Music
Label Naxos Classics | Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Composers Igor Stravinsky
Conductors Robert Craft
Orchestras Philharmonia Orchestra
Disc: 1
The Firebird (complete original version)
1 Introduction
2 Scene I: Night. Kastchei's Enchanted Garden
3 Scene I: The Firebird enters, pursued by Ivan Tsar
4 Scene I: The Firebird's Dance
5 Scene I: Ivan Tsarevich captures the Firebird
6 Scene I: The Firebird begs to be released
7 Scene I: Entrance of the Thirteen Enchanted Prince
8 Scene I: The Princesses play with the golden apple
9 Scene I: Ivan Tsarevich appears
10 Scene I: The Princesses' Khorovod (Round Dance)
11 Scene I: Daybreak
12 Scene I: Ivan Tsarevich, entering Kastchei's palac
13 Scene I: The entrance of Kastchei the Immortal
14 Scene I: Dialogue between Kastchei and Ivan Tsarev
15 Scene I: The Princesses plead for mercy
16 Scene I: The Firebird enters
17 Scene I: Dance of Kastchei's retinue under the Fir
18 Scene I: Infernal Dane of Kastchei and his subject
19 Scene I: The Firebird's Lullaby
20 Scene I: Kastchei's awakens
21 Scene I: Kastchei's death
22 Scene II: Kastchei's spell is broken, his palace d
Petrushka (1947 version)
23 First Tableau: The Shrove-Tide Fair
24 First Tableau: The Mountebank
25 First Tableau: Russian Dance
26 Second Tableau: In Petrushka's Cell (Impetuoso)
27 Third Tableau: The Blackamoor
28 Third Tableau: The Ballerina
29 Third Tableau: Valse - Ballerina and Blackamoor (L
30 Fourth Tableau: The Shrove-Tide Fair
31 Fourth Tableau: The Dance of the Wet-Nurses
32 Fourth Tableau: Peasant with Bear
33 Fourth Tableau: Gypsies and a Rake Vendor
34 Fourth Tableau: Dance of the Coachmen
35 Fourth Tableau: Masqueraders
36 Fourth Tableau: The Scuffle (Blackmoor and Petrush
37 Fourth Tableau: Death of Petrushka
38 Fourth Tableau: Police and the Juggler
39 Fourth Tableau: Vociferation of Petrushka's Ghost
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like STRAVINSKY: The Firebird / Petrushka (Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft) (Naxos: 8.557500), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Stravinsky: Duo Concertante/ Duo Piano Sonata/ Requiem Canticles (David Wilson-Johnson/ Jennifer Frautschi/ Jeremy Denk/ Maarten van Veen/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Ralph van Raat/ Richard O'Neill/ Robert Craft/ Roderick Williams/ Sally Burgess/ Simon Joly
STRAVINSKY: Greek Classics II (Robert Craft Collection) (Stravinsky, Vol. 8) (London Philharmonic Orchestra/ Mark Wait/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ St. Luke's Orchestra/ Twentieth Century Classics Ensemble) (Naxos: 8.557506)
The Neo-Classic Stravinsky (Robert Craft Collection) (Stravinsky, Vol. 10) (Gregg Smith Singers/ Gregory K. Squires/ Jennifer Frautschi/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Philip Traugott/ Robert Craft/ St. Luke's Orchestra/ Twentieth Century Classics Ensemble) (Nax
STRAVINSKY: Histoire du Soldat Suite / Renard (Stravinsky, Vol. 7) (Naxos: 8.557505)
STRAVINSKY: Mass / Cantata / Symphony of Psalms (Stravinsky, Vol. 6) (Bart Feller/ David Wilson-Johnson/ Fred Sherry/ Gregg Smith Singers/ Gregory K. Squires/ Mary Ann Hart/ Melanie Feld/ Michael Parloff/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ Simon Joly C 8557504 02/10/2006 £6.99
The Russian Stravinsky (Robert Craft Collection) (Diana Montague/ London Symphony Orchestra/ Mark Beesley/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ Robin Leggate) (Naxos: 8.557503) 8557503 03/01/2006 £6.99
STRAVINSKY: The Rite of Spring / The Nightingale (Andrew Greenan/ London Symphony Orchestra/ London Voices/ Olga Trifonova/ Paul Whelan/ Peter Hall/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Pippa Longworth/ Robert Craft/ Robert Tear/ Sally Burgess/ Simon Preece/ Stephen R 8557501 29/08/2005 £6.99
STRAVINSKY: Apollo / Agon / Orpheus (London Symphony Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ St. Luke's Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.557502) 8557502 02/05/2005 £6.99
STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces (Naxos: 8.557499) 8557499 22/10/2004 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
STRAVINSKY: The Firebird / Petrushka / Suites Nos. 1 and 2 (Alexander Rahbari/ Belgian Radio and Television Philharmonic Orchestra/ Gunter Appenheimer/ Robert Groslot) (Naxos: 8.550263) 8550263 01/01/2001 £6.99
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items