Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces (Naxos: 8.557499)

Buy + Add To Wish List + £6.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Oedipus Rex Les Noces

Stravinsky conducted the first performance of OedipusRex (1925-1927) in the The?ótre Sarah Bernhardt, Paris,on 30th May, 1927, in a double bill with Firebird, inwhich George Balanchine danced the r??le of Kastchei.

Composers--Ravel, Poulenc, and Roger Sessionsamong them--were the first to recognize it asStravinsky's most powerful dramatic work and one ofhis greatest creations. After hearing Ernest Ansermetconduct it in London, February 12, 1936, the youngBenjamin Britten noted in his diary:

'One of the peaks of Stravinsky's output, this workshows his wonderful sense of style and power ofdrawing inspiration from every age of music, andleaving the whole a perfect shape, satisfying everyaesthetic demand ... the established idea oforiginality dies so hard.'"
Disc: 1
Oedipus Rex
1 Prologue
2 Introducing Creon
3 Introducing Tiresias
4 Introducing Jocasta
5 Introducing the Messenger
6 Epilogue
Les Noces
7 Scene 1: The Tresses (At the Bride's House)
8 Scene 2: At the Bridegroom's House
9 Scene 3: The Departure of the Bride
10 Scene 4: The Wedding Feast
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces (Naxos: 8.557499), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Stravinsky: Duo Concertante/ Duo Piano Sonata/ Requiem Canticles (David Wilson-Johnson/ Jennifer Frautschi/ Jeremy Denk/ Maarten van Veen/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Ralph van Raat/ Richard O'Neill/ Robert Craft/ Roderick Williams/ Sally Burgess/ Simon Joly
STRAVINSKY: Igor Stravinsky - A Portrait (NICE) (Naxos: 8.558186-87)
SCHOENBERG: Vol. VII (Robert Craft Collection) (David Wilson-Johnson/ Gregory K. Squires/ Jennifer Welch-Babidge/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Philip Traugott/ Robert Craft/ Simon Joly Chorale) (Naxos: 8.557525)
STRAVINSKY: Histoire du Soldat Suite / Renard (Stravinsky, Vol. 7) (Naxos: 8.557505)
DISCOVER OPERA (Naxos: 8.558196-97) 8558196-97 02/10/2006 £12.99
STRAVINSKY: Mass / Cantata / Symphony of Psalms (Stravinsky, Vol. 6) (Bart Feller/ David Wilson-Johnson/ Fred Sherry/ Gregg Smith Singers/ Gregory K. Squires/ Mary Ann Hart/ Melanie Feld/ Michael Parloff/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ Simon Joly C 8557504 02/10/2006 £6.99
The Russian Stravinsky (Robert Craft Collection) (Diana Montague/ London Symphony Orchestra/ Mark Beesley/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ Robin Leggate) (Naxos: 8.557503) 8557503 03/01/2006 £6.99
STRAVINSKY: The Rite of Spring / The Nightingale (Andrew Greenan/ London Symphony Orchestra/ London Voices/ Olga Trifonova/ Paul Whelan/ Peter Hall/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Pippa Longworth/ Robert Craft/ Robert Tear/ Sally Burgess/ Simon Preece/ Stephen R 8557501 29/08/2005 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Stravinsky, Igor, STRAVINSKY: The Firebird / Petrushka (Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft) (Naxos: 8.557500), 8557500 18/02/2005 £6.99
SCHOENBERG: Gurre-Lieder (David Wilson-Johnson/ Ernst Haefliger/ Jennifer Lane/ Martyn Hill/ Melanie Diener/ Mike Cox/ Philharmonia Orchestra/ Robert Craft/ Simon Joly Chorale/ Stephen O'Mara) (Naxos: 8.557518-19) 8557518-19 22/10/2004 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items