Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

STRAVINSKY: Music for Two Pianos (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole/ Peter Hill) (Naxos: 8.553386)

Buy + Add To Wish List + £6.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Stravinsky composed his music at the keyboard, often struggling to play his own complex rhythms. It is not surprising therefore that many of his symphonic works also exist in his own piano versions, such as the four hand transcription of his ballet, The Rite of Spring. It is a pianistic tour de force, the players often having to interweave fingers, hands and arms to meet the composers tremendous demands of virtuosity.

The work has for many years formed part of the standard repertoire of Benjamin Frith and Peter Hill. They have played it throughout England to astonished audiences, and have broadcast this (and the other two works on this disc) on BBC Radio 3.

The performance is staggeringly brilliant, superbly recorded in St Silas Church, London on a wonderful Bosendorfer Imperial Grand.

The duo are now recording exclusively for Naxos, Peter Hill will be recording the complete music by Stravinsky for two hands at sessions this summer.

Item number 8553386
Barcode 730099438629
Release date 01/01/2000
Category Chamber | Classical Music
Label Naxos Classics | Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Artists Peter Hill
Frith, Benjamin
Composers Stravinsky, Igor
Producers Cole, Gary
Disc: 1
Sonata for Two Pianos
1 Moderato
2 Theme with Variations
3 Variation 1
4 Variation 2
5 Variation 3
6 Variation 4
7 Allegretto
Concerto for Two Pianos
8 Con moto
9 Notturno
10 Quattro variazioni: Variation 1
11 Variation 2
12 Variation 3
13 Variation 4
14 Preludio e Fuga
The Rite of Spring for four hands on one piano
15 Part I THE ADORATION OF THE EARTH: Introduction
16 Part I: Auguries of Spring (Dances of the Young Gi
17 Part I: Ritual of Abduction
18 Part I: Spring Rounds
19 Part I: Games of the Rival Tribes
20 Part I: Procession of the Wise Elder
21 Part I: The Sage
22 Part I: Dance of the Earth
23 Part II THE SACRIFICE: Introduction
24 Part II: Mystic Circles of the Young Girls
25 Part II: Glorification of the Chosen One
26 Part II: Evocation of the Ancestors
27 Part II: Ritual Action of the Ancestors
28 Part II: Sacrificial Dance
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like STRAVINSKY: Music for Two Pianos (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole/ Peter Hill) (Naxos: 8.553386), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

STRAVINSKY: Histoire du Soldat Suite / Renard (Stravinsky, Vol. 7) (Naxos: 8.557505)
BAX: Clarinet Sonata / Piano Trio in Bb (Alice Neary/ Benjamin Frith/ Gould Piano Trio/ Michael Ponder/ Robert Plane) (Naxos: 8.557698)
SCARLATTI, D.: Keyboard Sonatas, Vol. 5 (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole) (Naxos: 8.554792)
STRAVINSKY: Sonata / Serenade / 3 Movements from Petrushka (Peter Hill) (Naxos: 8.553871)
SZYMANOWSKI: String Quartets / STRAVINSKY: Concertino (Goldner Quartet) (Naxos: 8.554315) 8554315 01/08/2000 £6.99
MENDELSSOHN: 6 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 35 / 3 Caprices, Op. 37 (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole) (Naxos: 8.550939) 8550939 01/01/2000 £6.99
MENDELSSOHN: Sonata in E Major / Variations serieuses / Preludes and Etudes, Op. 104 (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole) (Naxos: 8.550940) 8550940 01/01/2000 £6.99
SCHUBERT: Lieder (Russell) (Gary Cole/ Lynda Russell/ Peter Hill) (Naxos: 8.553113) 8553113 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
MENDELSSOHN: Sonata in B Flat Major / Fantasies, Op. 16 (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole) (Naxos: 8.553186) 8553186 01/01/2000 £6.99
Mendelssohn: Piano Works, Vol. 4 (Benjamin Frith/ Gary Cole) (Naxos: 8.553358) 8553358 01/01/2000 £6.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items