Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Shostakovich: The Girlfriends (Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.572138)

Buy + Add To Wish List + £6.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
This treasure trove of Shostakovich rarities presents four world premi?¿re recordings.

The music for the film 'The Girlfriends', newly reconstructed from various original sources including the 1934 soundtrack and a number of recently discovered 'Preludes', and the scores for the stage productions of 'Salute to Spain' and 'Rule, Britannia!', come from one of the most fertile and brilliant periods of the composer's creative life and are almost completely unknown. The unfinished symphonic movement from 1945, that had lain hidden for more than half a century, turns out to be Shostakovich's first idea for his 'Ninth Symphony'.
Item number 8572138
Barcode 747313213870
Release date 27/04/2009
Category Film Music | Classical Music
Label Naxos Classics | Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Composers Shostakovich, Dmitry
Orchestras Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
Disc: 1
Podrugi (Girl Friends), Op. 41a (reconstructed by
1 Introduction (opening credits)
2 The Year 1914: The workers' residential block and
3 The families wait for the strikers to return
4 The Inn of the Keys to Happiness
5 The children attempt to sing their poppy song (rec
6 By the river: Revolutionary song Zamuchen tiazhelo
7 Fanfare (reconstructed by M. Fitz-Gerald)
8 The story of Silych's son, Ivan
9 Zamuchen tiazheloi nevolei (Tormented by a Lack of
10 The Year 1919, Russian Civil War - Fanfare and Org
11 Internationale: The girls leave for war (reconstru
12 The girls attend to the wounded soldiers on the ba
13 Alla Marcia: The town of Pushkin has been taken by
14 Internationale: The girls and the wounded soldiers
15 Zoya in the snowy forest (reconstructed by M. Fit
16 The Forester's Hut
17 Fanfare: Andrei arrives with news from the front (
18 Fanfare (reconstructed by M. Fitz-Gerald)
19 The girls find a chicken
20 Natasha and Zoya sing a nostalgic song, Gde eti ty
21 Natasha and Zoya are rescued (reconstructed by M.
22 Fanfare: Andrei and Senka arrive (reconstructed by
23 Andrei's closing words
Prav', Britaniya (Rule, Britannia), Op. 28
24 Internationale
25 Infantry March
26 Along the Soviet Route
27 Protest (reconstructed by M. Fitz-Gerald)
28 Raising the Banner
29 The Banners Flap in the Wind
Salyut, Ispaniya (Salute to Spain), Op. 44
30 Fanfare I
31 March of the Officers
32 Fanfare II
33 Anon.: A las barricadas! (To the Barricades!) (arr
34 Song of Rosita
35 Fanfare III
36 attrib. I. S. Aturov: Po dolinam i po vzgor'yam (A
37 Reminiscence of the Song of Rosita
38 Lucia's Funeral March
Symphonic Fragment (1st version of Symphony no. 9
39 Symphonic Fragment (1st version of Symphony no. 9
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Shostakovich: The Girlfriends (Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.572138), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

SHOSTAKOVICH: Odna (Alone) (Anitta Juhala-Jolkkonen/ Anna Kiknadze/ Anna Laura Iongo/ Barbara Buchholz/Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra/ Frankfurt Vocal Ensemble) (Naxos: 8.570316)
KILAR: Bram Stoker's Dracula / Death and the Maiden / King of the Last Days (Antoni Wit/ Cracow Philharmonic Chorus/ Jacek Mentel/ Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.557703)
SHOSTAKOVICH: Hamlet, Op. 116 (Dmitry Yablonsky/ Lubov Doronina/ Russian Philharmonic Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.557446) 8557446 01/05/2004 £6.99
Discover the Classics, Vol. 2 8554246-47 01/01/2000 £12.99
SHOSTAKOVICH: Cello Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 (Antoni Wit/ Maria Kliegel/ Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra/ Teije van Geest) (Naxos: 8.550813) 8550813 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
SHOSTAKOVICH: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 (Antoni Wit/ Ilya Kaler/ Michael Ponder/ Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.550814) 8550814 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Romance (Naxos: 8.553216) 8553216 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich, Dmitry, SHOSTAKOVICH: The Gadfly / Five Days-Five Nights (Alexander Hornostai/ Theodore Kuchar/ Ukraine National Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.553299), 8553299 01/01/2000 £6.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items