Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Rimsky-Korsakov: Invisible City Of Kitezh (Naxos: 8.660288-90) (Naxos: 8.660288-90)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
The Invisible City of Kitezh, completed in 1905, is a remarkable opera that fuses folklore, mysticism and realism. Its subject is the story of the advancing Mongol army's entry to Great Kitezh and the city's subsequent miraculous survival. Rejecting archaisms and the more religiously inclined suggestions of his librettist, Rimsky-Korsakov sought to create an opera that \is contemporary and even fairly advanced". It is therefore through-composed, hinting at times at Wagnerian procedure, and flooded with the composer's rich, apt and brilliant orchestral palette, fully supportive of the powerful vocal writing.

From 2001 until 2009 Alexander Vedernikov was Music Director and Chief Conductor of the Bolshoy Theatre. Under his direction the orchestra of the Bolshoy toured extensively, including Athens, Hamburg and Paris in February 2008, and for a season of opera and ballet at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden."
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Rimsky-Korsakov: Invisible City Of Kitezh (Naxos: 8.660288-90) (Naxos: 8.660288-90), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Great Russian Symphonies (Naxos: 8.501059) (Naxos: 8.501059)
Korsakov: The Invisible City Of Kitezh (NAXOS 2.110277-78) (Naxos DVD: 2.110277-78)
R-Korsakov: Orchestral Suites (Suites: Le Coq D'Or/ Snow Maide) (NAXOS 8.572787)
Evgeny Svetlanov (Evgeny Svetlanov/ USSR State Symphony Orchestra) (ICA Classics: ICAC 5036)
STRAUSS II, J.: Jabuka (Das Apfelfest) (Naxos: 8.660216-17) 8660216-17 29/10/2007 £12.99
WEINBERGER: Svanda Dudak (Naxos: 8.660146-47) 8660146-47 24/09/2004 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
PAVLOVA: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 3 (Alexander Vedernikov/ Konstantin D. Krimets/ Leonid Lebedev/ Lubov Doronina/ Mikhail Adamovich/ Mikhail Shestakov/ Nikolay Lotakov/ Olga Vedernikova/ Russian Philharmonia Orchestra/ Valery Brill) (Naxos: 8.557157) 8557157 01/10/2003 £6.99
Out of stock
Rimsky-Korsakov: Antar (Philharmonia Orchestra/ Yevgeny Svetlanov) (Hyperion Helios: CDH55137) CDH55137 23/06/2003 £6.99
The Romantic Piano Concerto, Vol. 05 / Balakirev & Rimsky-Korsakov (David Lloyd-Jones/ English Northern Philharmonia/ Lynne Dawson/ Malcolm Binns/ Tony Faulkner) (Hyperion: CDA66640) CDA66640 01/01/2000 £13.99
VERDI: Aida (Naxos: 8.660033-34) 8660033-34 01/01/2000 £12.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items