Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed


Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Michelangeli's first recordings were made for HMV in Milan in 1939, following his win at the Geneva International Piano Competition.

In Granados's 'Andaluza' Michelangeli uses a soulful singing tone to great advantage, while his phenomenal virtuoso technique can be heard in Marescotti's 'Fantasque', one of the test pieces for the Geneva Competition. These and the 1948 recordings of Bach, Galuppi and Brahms demonstrate that as a young man Michelangeli was already a consummate artist.

As a critic wrote about the recording of the Brahms 'Paganini Variations': \What a pianist! Technically, the playing is astonishing: interpretatively, here is a very great musician.... altogether this is the most exciting piano performance and recording I have heard for many a long day."

"Apollonian stance and awe-inspiring control..... the dynamic range reinforces the Lisztian patina of Michelangeli's conception.....[a] ravishing, multi-layered sound world." Classics Today."
Item number 8111351
Barcode 747313335121
Release date 27/10/2008
Category Instrumental | Classical Music
Label Naxos Records | Naxos Historical
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Artists Michelangeli, Arturo Benedetti
Disc: 1
Cancons i danses No. 1
1 I. Allegro
2 II. Andante
3 III. Presto
4 Violin Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004: V. Ciac
5 Allegro in G major
6 Presto in B flat major
7 Keyboard Sonata in D major, K.96/L.465/P.210
8 Keyboard Sonata in B minor, K.27/L.449/P.83
9 Keyboard Sonata in C minor, K.11/L.352/P.67
10 Keyboard Sonata in D minor, K.9/L.413/P.65
11 Theme
12 Variation I
13 Variation II
14 Variation III
15 Variation IV
16 Variation V
17 Variation VI
18 Variation VII
19 Variation VIII
20 Variation X
21 Variation XI
22 Variation XII
23 Variation I
24 Variation II
25 Variation V
26 Variation VI
27 Variation VII
28 Variation VIII
29 Variation X
30 Variation XI
31 Variation XII
32 Variation XIII
33 Variation III
34 Variation IV
35 Variation XIII
36 Variation XIV
37 12 Danzas espanolas (Spanish Dances), Op. 37: No.
38 Fantasque
39 Recuerdos de viaje, Op. 71: No. 8. Rumores de la C
40 Cancons i danses No. 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like MICHELANGELI: EARLY R'DINGS 1, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

William Primrose Recital Volume 2
Tchaikovsky/ Prokofiev: Richter
BACH: Goldberg Variations / Italian Concerto / Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue
LISZT: Piano Sonata in B Minor
BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1 8110664 01/09/2001 £6.99
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 8110638 01/04/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Piano Transcriptions 8110658 01/02/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
BRAHMS: Paganini and Handel Variations 8110634 01/02/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
CHOPIN: Polonaises 8110661 01/11/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
MOZART: Piano Sonatas / BEETHOVEN: Variations 8110603 01/09/2000 £6.99
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items