Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Life and Works: TCHAIKOVSKY (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ Malcolm Sinclair) (Naxos: 8.558036-39)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Item number 8558036-39
Barcode 636943803622
Release date 01/04/2002
Category Classical Music | Audio Books
Label Naxos Educational
Media type CD
Number of units 4
Artists Jeremy Siepmann
Malcolm Sinclair
Composers Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Jeremy Siepmann
Disc: 1
Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1 Tchaikovsky in early childhood
2 Music: Glinka: Overture to A Life for the Tsar
3 Enforced separation from his mother
4 Music: Tchaikovsky: Dumka, Op. 59
5 Death of his mother
6 Music: Rêverie du Soir
7 Early manhood: the spendthrift civil servant
8 Music: Minuet from Mozartiana
9 Dismissive opinions of other composers
10 Music: The Storm
11 Journey to a breakdown
12 Music: First Symphony
13 Abortive engagement
14 The advent of Balakirev
15 Music: Romeo and Juliet
16 Travels and a wounded friendship
17 Music: First Piano Concerto
Disc: 2
Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1 Reforming the Ballet
2 Music: the Rose Adagio from The Sleeping Beauty
3 Bizet's Carmen has a major effect on Tchaikovsky's
4 Music: Francesca da Rimini
5 A compositional paradox
6 Music: Rococo Variations
7 The struggle of despair and hope; he decides to ma
8 Music: The Tempest
9 The advent of Nadezhda von Meck
10 Music: The Sleeping Beauty Waltz
11 The desastrous road to matrimony
12 Music: Romeo and Juliet
13 Marriage, trauma, and a fairy tale annuity
14 Letter to Mme von Meck
15 Music: Romeo and Juliet
Disc: 3
Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1 Recovery and creativity
2 Music: Fourth Symphony
3 The creation of his favourite opera
4 Music: Lensky's aria from Eugene Onegin
5 The return to compositional health
6 Music: Violin Concerto in D
7 He experiences distressing relapses
8 Music: Capriccio Italien
9 Psychological disturbances and a long fallow perio
10 Music: Piano Trio in A minor
11 Sufferings for Mme von Meck; he decides to settle
12 Music: Manfred Symphony
13 Conducting tours and domestic bliss
14 Music: Fifth Symphony
15 More conducting tours, and a working holiday in It
16 Music: Souvenir de Florence
Disc: 4
Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1 The rift with Mme von Meck
2 Music: Sixth Symphony (second movement)
3 His obsession with 'Bob' Davydov; adventures in Am
4 Music: Fifth Symphony
5 Further America adventures
6 A trip to Niagara
7 Music: Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy (The Nutcrack
8 A darker episode
9 Music: Voyevode
10 Portrait of a conductor
11 A hero's return
12 Music: Sixth Symphony
13 The mystery surrounding his death
14 Music: First Piano Concerto
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Life and Works: TCHAIKOVSKY (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ Malcolm Sinclair) (Naxos: 8.558036-39), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Life and Works: HAYDN (Siepmann) (David Timson/ Frances Jeater/ Jeremy Siepmann/ Jeremy Siepmann/ Nigel Anthony/ Roger May/ Sam Dastor/ Steve Hodson) (Naxos: 8.558091-94)
Life and Works Sampler (Jeremy Siepmann) (Naxos: 8.558.128)
The Instruments of the Orchestra (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann) (Naxos: 8.558040-46)
Life and Works: MOZART (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ Nicholas Boulton) (Naxos: 8.558061-64) 8558061-64 01/07/2002 £19.99
Classics Explained: DVORAK - Symphony No. 9, 'From the New World' (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.558065-66) 8558065-66 01/07/2002 £12.99
Item is discontinued.
Life and Works: BACH, J.S. (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ John Shrapnel) (Naxos: 8.558051-54) 8558051-54 01/05/2002 £19.99
Few in stock Buy +
Classics Explained: BEETHOVEN - Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann) (Naxos: 8.558034-35) 8558034-35 01/04/2002 £12.99
Item is discontinued.
Life and Works: CHOPIN (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos: 8.558001-04) 8558001-04 01/08/2001 £19.99
Item is discontinued.
Life and Works: LISZT (Siepmann) (Jeremy Siepmann/ Nicolas Soames) (Naxos: 8.558005-06) 8558005-06 01/08/2001 £12.99
Item is discontinued.
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items