Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

LECLAIR: Chamber Music with Flute (Complete) (Christopher Krueger/ Fenwick Smith/ Joel Gordon/ John Gibbons/ Laura Blustein/ Laura Jeppesen) (Naxos: 8.557440-41)

Buy + Add To Wish List + £12.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
The music of Jean-Marie Leclair exemplifies the values and aspirations of the Age of Enlightenment: clarity and rationality; balance, harmony and proportion; and avoidance of excess or exaggeration. Although Leclair is today more commonly remembered as the founder of the French school of violin writing, his flute compositions brilliantly exploit the technical and expressive resources of the instrument. Of particular note is the magisterial 'Chaconne' from the 'Deuxi?¿me r?®cr?®ation de musique', described by John Solum (author of 'The Early Flute') as 'one of the greatest movements ever conceived for flute'. Among the 48 sonatas Leclair wrote, there are nine which he declared to be suitable for flute.
Item number 8557440-41
Barcode 747313244027
Release date 27/08/2007
Category Chamber | Classical Music
Label Naxos Classics | Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 2
Artists John Gibbons
Laura Jeppesen
Christopher Krueger
Laura Blustein
Fenwick Smith
Composers Jean-Marie Leclair
Producers Joel Gordon
Disc: 1
Flute Sonata in C major, Op. 1, No. 2
1 I. Adagio
2 II. Corrente: Allegro
3 III. Gavotta: Gratioso
4 IV. Giga: Allegro
Flute Sonata in E minor, Op. 9, No. 2
5 I. Dolce andante
6 II. Allemanda: Allegro ma non troppo
7 III. Sarabanda: Adagio
8 IV. Minuetto: Allegro non troppo
Flute Sonata in G major, Op. 9, No. 7
9 I. Dolce andante
10 II. Allegro ma non troppo
11 III. Aria: Affettuoso
12 IV. Giga: Allegro moderato
Flute Sonata in E minor, Op. 1, No. 6
13 I. Adagio
14 II. Vivace
15 III. Aria: Affettuoso
16 IV. Allegro
Trio Sonata in D major, Op. 2, No. 8
17 I. Adagio
18 II. Allegro
19 III. Sarabanda: Largo
20 IV. Allegro assai
Disc: 2
Flute Sonata in G major, Op. 2, No. 5
1 I. Andante
2 II. Allegro ma poco
3 III. Gavotta: Gratioso
4 IV. Allegro assai
Flute Sonata in C major, Op. 2, No. 3
5 I. Adagio
6 II. Allegro
7 III. Largo
8 IV. Giga: Allegro ma poco
Flute Sonata in B minor, Op. 2, No. 11
9 I. Adagio
10 II. Allegro
11 III. Aria gratioso: Allegro ma non troppo
Flute Sonata in E minor, Op. 2, No. 1
12 I. Adagio
13 II. Allegro ma poco
14 III. Sarabanda: Largo
15 IV. Allegro
Deuxieme recreation de musique d'une execution fac
16 I. Ouverture: Gravement - Legerement - Lentement
17 II. Forlane: Point trop vite
18 III. Sarabande: Lentement
19 IV. Menuet - Autre menuet
20 V. Badinage
21 VI. Chaconne
22 VII. Tambourin: Vite
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like LECLAIR: Chamber Music with Flute (Complete) (Christopher Krueger/ Fenwick Smith/ Joel Gordon/ John Gibbons/ Laura Blustein/ Laura Jeppesen) (Naxos: 8.557440-41), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Gulfstream (Various American Chamber Music) (NAXOS 8.559692)
Richter: Sonata Da Camera For Flute, Harsichord And Cello (NAXOS 8.572030)
Piazzolla: Tango Distinto (Music For Solo Trombone And Instrumental Ensemble) (NAXOS 8.572596)
Hill: String Quartets Vol.4 (String Quartets No. 10 & 11/ Li) (NAXOS 8.572844)
Meyer: String Quartets Nos. 9/ 11/ 12 (NAXOS 8.572656) 8572656 28/11/2011 £6.99
Philips: Cantiones Sacrae Quinis Et Oct (NAXOS 8.572832) 8572832 28/11/2011 £6.99
Leclair: Violin Sonatas Book 1 (Naxos: 8.570889) 8570889 01/09/2009 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
GAUBERT: Music for Flute 3 (Fenwick Smith/ Sally Pinkas) (Naxos: 8.557307) 8557307 27/02/2006 £6.99
GAUBERT: Works for Flute, Vol. 2 (Fenwick Smith/ Joel Gordon/ Sally Pinkas) (Naxos: 8.557306) 8557306 23/07/2004 £6.99
GAUBERT: Works for Flute, Vol. 1 (Andrew Pearce/ Ann Hobson Pilot/ Fenwick Smith/ Jacques Zoon/ Jayne West/ Joel Gordon/ John Ferrillo/ Malcolm Lowe/ Sally Pinkas) (Naxos: 8.557305) 8557305 01/11/2003 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items