Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

HANSON: Merry Mount (Naxos American Classics: 8.669012-13)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Born in Nebraska, of Scandinavian heritage, Howard Hanson was influenced as much by Jean Sibelius as by his American surroundings. The plot of his 1933 opera, 'Merry Mount', set in New England in 1625 during a conflict between the Puritans and the Cavaliers, is anything but merry. However, the composer described the music as \warm-blooded...essentially a lyrical work [that] makes use of broad melodic lines as often as possible". This recording derives from a critically acclaimed pair of concert performances by Seattle Symphony and Gerard Schwarz in October 1996. "
Disc: 1
Merry Mount, Op. 31
1 Act I: Prelude
2 Act I: Be as a lion, dread Jehovah… From plots of
3 Act I: Ah - I deny thy Christ (Bradford, Banks, Te
4 Act I: A savoury discourse, good Master Bradford (
5 Act I: Last night came One that paced a-down the s
6 Act I: My son, Thou'rt over-ripe for marriage! (Te
7 Act I: The willow keep to thatch our sleep (Plenti
8 Act I: Plentiful Tewke hath catched the preacher!
9 Act I: Gi' you good night, sir… (Prence, Myles Bro
10 Act I: Scratch a Roundhead, find a rebel … Thrones
11 Act I: Right rev'rend priest, our holy joy … Respe
12 Act I: Marigold! Lady! … Let us be lions of Jehova
Disc: 2
Merry Mount, Op. 31
1 Act II Scene 1: Prelude - I wind and I wind, My tr
2 Act II Scene 1: From forth the hill … I christen '
3 Act II Scene 1: Long Live the Lady (Men and Women)
4 Act II Scene 1: Marigold! When the morning stars t
5 Act II Scene 1: Methinks I see th'infernal rendezv
6 Act II Scene 2: O pity me! Thou alone of women Can
7 Act II Scene 2: Let them strike twice, And I will
8 Act II Scene 2: Hale her to the village, A prisone
9 Act II Scene 2: Almighty Father, My King and my Go
10 Act II Scene 2: Chorus of Mystic Voices
11 Act II Scene 3: Alleluia! Alleluia! (Bradford, Luc
12 Act II Scene 3: Now thou art mine (Lucifer, Monste
13 Act II Scene 3: Rise up, my love my fair one (Brad
14 Act III Scene 1: Prelude
15 Act III Scene 2: Gird you with Sackcloth (Tewke, P
16 Act III Scene 2: Never more shall prayer ravish th
17 Act III Scene 2: Woe, woe! Lost sheep are we (Puri
18 Act III Scene 2: No witch am I; But one that long
19 Act III Scene 2: Ay, even now thy lover frets at H
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like HANSON: Merry Mount (Naxos American Classics: 8.669012-13), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Handel: Acis And Galatea (Naxos: 8.572745-46) (Dawn Kotoski/ David Gordon/ Glenn Siebert/ Jan Opalach/ Seattle Symphony and Chorale/ Gerard Schwarz)
Hanson, Howard, Hanson: Symphony No. 4/ Symphony No. 5 (Naxos: 8.559703),
Hanson, Howard, Hanson: Symphony No.3/ Merry Mount Suit (NAXOS 8.559702),
Hanson, Howard, Hanson: Symphony No. 1 'Nordic'/ The Lament For Beowulf (Gerard Schwarz/ Seattle Symphony Chorale/ Seattle Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.559700),
SCHIFF, D.: Gimpel the Fool (Adam Stern/ Alissa Mercurio/ Bryan Hunt/ D' Anna Fortunato/ Judith Schiff/ Kenneth Kiesler/ Kevin Walsh/ Megan Besley/ Richard Zeller/ Third Angle Ensemble/ Thomas Glenn/ Tyler Oliphant/ Vale Rideout) (Naxos American Classics: 8669010-11 30/04/2007 £12.99
Scenes from Jewish Operas, Vol. 2 (Naxos Milken Archives: 8.559450) 8559450 02/01/2007 £6.99
SHOSTAKOVICH: October, Op. 132 (Abraham Kaplan/ Gerard Schwarz/ Seattle Symphony Chorale/ Seattle Symphony Orchestra/ Zsolt Nagy Major) (Naxos: 8.5578.12) 8557812 27/02/2006 £6.99
ADOLPHE: Ladino Songs of Love and Suffering / Mikhoels the Wise (Excerpt) (Adam Stern/ College-Conservatory of Music Wind Symphony/ David Frost/ David Jolley/ Eliot Fisk/ Erie Mills/ Gerard Schwarz/ John Aler/ Lucy Shelton/ Nathaniel Watson/ Phyllis Pance 8559413 02/05/2005 £6.99
DIAMOND: TOM Suite / Symphony No. 8 / This Sacred Ground (Erich Parce/ Gerard Schwarz/ Lawrence E. Tucker/ Northwest Boychoir/ Seattle Girls' Choir/ Seattle Symphony Chorale/ Seattle Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos American Classics: 8.559156) 8559156 01/04/2004 £6.99
CRESTON: Symphony No. 5 / Toccata / Partita (Gerard Schwarz/ Ilkka Talvi/ Lawrence E. Tucker/ Scott Goff/ Seattle Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos American Classics: 8.559153) 8559153 01/02/2004 £6.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items